ReadyNas Duo & Proprietary File System

Please provide feedback on either our product, web site or this forum here.

ReadyNas Duo & Proprietary File System

Postby wonmoi » Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:37 pm

I was almost deadset about buying a ReadyNas Duo when I found out that it uses a 'proprietary' filesystem that would not be able to be read by any x86-based hardware.
Does this means that if I run RAID 1 on my ReadyNas & it crashes, I am unable to take one of the disk out & mount it on to my computer & recover the data?
wonmoi
ReadyNAS Newbie

Re: ReadyNas Duo & Proprietary File System

Postby yoh-dah » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:04 am

It's not really a proprietary filesystem but rather a filesystem based on 16K blocksize. Sparc, IA-64, and any of the sparc instruction set ReadyNAS (Duo, NV/NV+, 1100) will be able to mount the filesystem fine.
yoh-dah
Jedi Council Alumni

ReadyNAS: Pro

Postby wonmoi » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:19 am

Thanks for the reply yoh-dah.
I am a NAS newbie & am not aware of this 16KB blocksize & SPARC stuff.
I just want to be able to recover/read my data if my NAS hardware fails instead of one of the disks.
So if I were to buy the ReadyNas Duo & run it on RAID 1 and the NAS hardware fails sometime later how can I recover my data without having to buy another ReadyNas?
wonmoi
ReadyNAS Newbie

Postby yoh-dah » Tue Oct 28, 2008 7:54 am

wonmoi wrote:Thanks for the reply yoh-dah.
I am a NAS newbie & am not aware of this 16KB blocksize & SPARC stuff.
I just want to be able to recover/read my data if my NAS hardware fails instead of one of the disks.
So if I were to buy the ReadyNas Duo & run it on RAID 1 and the NAS hardware fails sometime later how can I recover my data without having to buy another ReadyNas?