Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Please provide feedback on either our product, web site or this forum here.

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby mdgm » Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:19 am

SeaTools can be used to verify if you have a bad disk.

Yes, it is very likely that these disks are incompatible with the v2.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33397
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby Lilja » Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:27 am

NV+ V2 will be deliverd back to the supplyer. And i will recive a Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4 today to replace it.
According to Netgears disc list that one will accept my discs and it allows me to run LMS (Logitech media server).
Anyone how know if i can swap the discs ower to the new nas and all will work or do i have to do it the hard way?

Sincerely
Olof
Lilja
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:27 am
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby mdgm » Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:42 am

I would suggest backing up your data and doing a factory reset.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33397
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby Lilja » Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:10 am

Ok. By that you say that i put my old discs in the new nas and do a factory reset?
Then it will clear the discs and update firmware etc. Seams like a good idea.

Thanx.
Lilja
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:27 am
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby mdgm » Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:12 am

The factory reset will wipe everything on the disks including data. It will not update the firmware.

So do backup your data first.

Best to put a spare disk in the x86 NAS, update to latest firmware e.g. via System > Update > Remote, then power down, remove spare disk from x86 NAS, then move your disks across and do a factory default.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33397
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby gleam06 » Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:02 am

Hi.

I've spent the afternoon to debug this new ReadyNas Duo v2 that I've sold to my customer to replace a Qnap TurboNas TS-219PII with a hardware problem.
First, I've ran into most read issues I've been done to read around but finally I've got everything to work. So I've found nice to register in this forum to post the solution to this common unsolved issue.

Issue details :
You got the message "Device is Offline, please wait".

Not Good :
You can try to reinstall the OS with the boot menu but you will loose time and get the same error.
You can format the disk and start over but it's not the good solution.

Good :
Launch putty.exe (if you are under windows, if not, use xterm or whatever) to connect the nas using ssh.
Putty client can be download from chiark web page.

username : root
password : password (by default, or your web admin password)

Once logged in, type :

NAS-console# cd /tmp
NAS-console# rm -rf *
NAS-console# rm -rf .*

Refresh your webpage admin with F5 (if you are under windows).

Issue over : you can see the interface with current parameters and pictures.

Hope you didn't find out before.
gleam06
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 9:50 am
ReadyNAS: Duo v2

Re: Readynas NV+ V2 Device is offline # 17773704

Postby ihartley » Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:01 am

gleam06 wrote:Hi.

I've spent the afternoon to debug this new ReadyNas Duo v2 that I've sold to my customer to replace a Qnap TurboNas TS-219PII with a hardware problem.


I'm in the process of swapping an NV+ v2 for a QNAP 219P II. You will find out soon why. :|
ihartley
Advanced ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:39 am
ReadyNAS: NV+ v2

Previous

Return to Feedback



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest