Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby armandckj » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:33 pm

Hi,
1GB, DDR1, 400MHz, PC3200, 16 chip works fine.
2 memory checks ran fine in just under 1.5 hours.

Armand
armandckj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby armandckj » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:33 pm

Hmm,
Maybe to happy to soon.
The 2 memory test went fine.
Placed the duo online and checked the DLNA server om my tv. It worked fine.

One hour later i logged in from the iMac and after 20 minutes i lost the connection to the Duo disks.
On the Duo the network cable was attached and showing 2 green lights (active and 100Mbps). On the front the blue power light was steady, both green disk lights were steady and occassionally the activity green light went on.
I plugged the network cable from the Duo to another socket in the Router. Still no Duo disks.
Ping-ing to the Duo had no success. 'findsmb' found nothing. Router did work fopr internet access.

Performed a shut down by pressing 5 seconds on the power button. Started up by pressing the power button again.
Everything works. The logs mention a shutdown and a system up. No Errors at all.

Any clueas as to the cause?

Armand
armandckj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby armandckj » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:08 pm

Ok,
Found this in the system.log:
""
[Mar 31 21:39:58 nas-02-63-74 mountd[952]: authenticated mount request from 192.168.1.34:1023 for /c/nfs (/c/nfs)
(User comment: sombody logs in)
Mar 31 21:40:16 nas-02-63-74 kernel: phy_irq 8008 repeated 1
Mar 31 21:40:47 nas-02-63-74 kernel: rxS1(00ca0000),rxS0(008000be)
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 kernel: + phy_irq 8008 repeated 2
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 kernel: unlinked
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Withdrawing address record for 192.168.1.41 on eth0.

(User comment: system stops using its IP-address)
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Leaving mDNS multicast group on interface eth0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.41.
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: iface.c: interface_mdns_mcast_join() called but no local address available.
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Interface eth0.IPv4 no longer relevant for mDNS.
Mar 31 21:42:31 nas-02-63-74 kernel: linked, 1000mbps mode
Mar 31 21:42:31 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: New relevant interface eth0.IPv4 for mDNS.
Mar 31 21:42:31 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface eth0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.41.
(User comment: tries to use its IP-address again)
Mar 31 21:42:31 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Registering new address record for 192.168.1.41 on eth0.
Mar 31 21:42:38 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[1267]: received signal 15, exiting
Mar 31 21:42:40 nas-02-63-74 exportfs[2247]: /etc/exports [1]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "*:/media". Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check'). NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x
Mar 31 21:42:40 nas-02-63-74 exportfs[2247]: /etc/exports [2]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "*:/nfs". Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check'). NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x
Mar 31 21:42:40 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2254]: Listening on 192.168.1.41:50000
Mar 31 21:42:40 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2254]: setsockopt - IP_ADD_MEMBERSHIP: Address already in use
Mar 31 21:42:40 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2254]: Failed to add membership for address 192.168.1.41
(User comment: IP-address not granted)
Mar 31 21:43:02 nas-02-63-74 nss_wins[2264]: can't find host time-e.netgear.com
Mar 31 21:43:23 nas-02-63-74 nss_wins[2264]: can't find host time-h.netgear.com
Mar 31 21:43:23 nas-02-63-74 nss_wins[2264]: no servers can be used, exiting
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 kernel: phy_irq 8008 repeated 21
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 kernel: unlinked
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Withdrawing address record for 192.168.1.41 on eth0.
(User comment: try once more)
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Leaving mDNS multicast group on interface eth0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.41.
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: iface.c: interface_mdns_mcast_join() called but no local address available.
Mar 31 21:45:53 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Interface eth0.IPv4 no longer relevant for mDNS.
Mar 31 21:46:04 nas-02-63-74 kernel: enable_irq(11) unbalanced from 80036a24
(User comment: Waht does this mean?)
Mar 31 21:46:09 nas-02-63-74 kernel: hotplug powersave returned 0x100enable_irq(11) unbalanced from 80036a24
Mar 31 21:46:26 nas-02-63-74 kernel: hotplug powersave returned 0x100linked, 1000mbps mode
Mar 31 21:46:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: New relevant interface eth0.IPv4 for mDNS.
Mar 31 21:46:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Joining mDNS multicast group on interface eth0.IPv4 with address 192.168.1.41.
Mar 31 21:46:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Registering new address record for 192.168.1.41 on eth0.
Mar 31 21:46:35 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2254]: received signal 15, exiting
Mar 31 21:46:36 nas-02-63-74 exportfs[2473]: /etc/exports [1]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "*:/media". Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check'). NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x
Mar 31 21:46:36 nas-02-63-74 exportfs[2473]: /etc/exports [2]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "*:/nfs". Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check'). NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x
Mar 31 21:46:36 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2480]: Listening on 192.168.1.41:50000
Mar 31 21:46:36 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2480]: setsockopt - IP_ADD_MEMBERSHIP: Address already in use
Mar 31 21:46:36 nas-02-63-74 upnpd(eth0)[2480]: Failed to add membership for address 192.168.1.41
Mar 31 21:46:39 nas-02-63-74 kernel: padre_power_down_task
(User comment: I press the shutdown button)
Mar 31 21:46:39 nas-02-63-74 init: Switching to runlevel: 0
Mar 31 21:46:54 nas-02-63-74 kernel: hotplug powerdown returned 0x100<4>nfsd: last server has exited
Mar 31 21:46:54 nas-02-63-74 kernel: nfsd: unexporting all filesystems
Mar 31 21:46:54 nas-02-63-74 kernel: RPC: failed to contact portmap (errno -5).
Mar 31 21:46:55 nas-02-63-74 exiting on signal 15
(User comment: I press the start button)
Mar 31 21:48:17 nas-02-63-74 syslogd 1.4.1#10: restart.

""

This
""
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 kernel: + phy_irq 8008 repeated 2
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 kernel: unlinked
Mar 31 21:42:26 nas-02-63-74 avahi-daemon[879]: Withdrawing address record for 192.168.1.41 on eth0.
""
looks like the start of the problem.

Is it memory related? I just changed from 256MB to 1GB.
If not, what has happened?

Regards,
Armand
armandckj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby snahl » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:40 pm

...and what did happen?
Was it the Corsair memory used (the VS1GSDS400)?
Please let us know, thank you.
Hans.
Dig-IT-all
snahl
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 7:34 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby PapaBear » Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:59 am

I would hazard a guess that it is memory related. Two things:
1. I do not see the Corsair VS1GSDS400 on the compatibility listing for the NV/NV+/Duo as of 8/1/2010.
2. Looking at the memory specs on Newegg, it is listed as CL3. There have been other posts stating that the CL must be 2.5 in order for it the memory to work.
Remember - the NAS is not a backup plan.

Backup = Good, No Backup = Bad
User avatar
PapaBear
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 3571
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: South Georgia
ReadyNAS: NVX

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby Noxmiles » Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:19 am

PapaBear wrote:1. I do not see the Corsair VS1GSDS400 on the compatibility listing for the NV/NV+/Duo as of 8/1/2010.


Where is the compatibility list?
I only see this site
If you still wish to replace/upgrade your system memory, there is community-provided feedback on successful modules available here: Community Hardware Compatibility List. NETGEAR makes no warranty with respect to the accuracy of the items posted.
Noxmiles
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:46 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby jpmmuc » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 pm

armandckj wrote:Hi,
1GB, DDR1, 400MHz, PC3200, 16 chip works fine.
2 memory checks ran fine in just under 1.5 hours.

Armand


The same here, because it was not clear if the memory module is ok, I run the memory check 4 times, all ok.
The System is now running fine for 4 days which much load (squeezebox server music library scanns and robocopy). With the 256 MB RAM I had problems, top showed 250 MB in use and 210 MB in swap, the system was very slow with squeezebox server 7.5.2.

System: ReadyNAS Duo
Memory: Corsair Value Select 1 GB, VS1GSDS400/EU DDR1 400MHz PC3200 CL3
(ReadyNAS needs only 300 MHz so CL 2.5 at 300 MHz seems to function)

Startpage shows:
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.1.7 [1.00a043]
Speicher: 1024 MB [2.5-3-3-7]

Greets,
Jpmmuc.
jpmmuc
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:26 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby paulb1257 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:07 am

PapaBear wrote:I would hazard a guess that it is memory related. Two things:
1. I do not see the Corsair VS1GSDS400 on the compatibility listing for the NV/NV+/Duo as of 8/1/2010.
2. Looking at the memory specs on Newegg, it is listed as CL3. There have been other posts stating that the CL must be 2.5 in order for it the memory to work.


Hello all,

I just took a look under the hood of my RND2000v2 and it has a stick of Apacer 256MB SOD PC3200 CL3 installed as standard.
paulb1257
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:12 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby ahpsi » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:09 pm

+1 on the Apacer; 256mb SOD PC3200 CL3 P/N 76.8338G.A07.
User avatar
ahpsi
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:18 am
Location: Lancaster PA
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby gibxxi » Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:51 am

ahpsi wrote:+1 on the Apacer; 256mb SOD PC3200 CL3 P/N 76.8338G.A07.


If memory serves, the Duo does not actually run the memory at PC3200 speed, and so the specs on the label do not nessecarily apply.

From what I can gather the Duo runs at PC2700, CAS level 2.5. Any half decent PC3200 memory (DDR400 / CAS 3) will likely run at the lower speed at the improved timing of CAS 2.5.

So if Buying PC3200 memory, just ensure that it will run at PC2700 at CAS 2.5 in ADDITION to running at it's rated speed.

I used a generic Crucial SODIMM with those very timings at had no issues.
NAS1: Netgear ReadyNAS - Pro 4 [FW: 4.2.26 - Drives: 4x SpinPoint F4 2TB - RAM: 4GB]
NAS2: Netgear Repertoire U4 (Chirpa Special) [FW: 4.2.26 - Drives: 4x WD Red 2TB - RAM: 4GB]
Router: Netgear WNDR4300 [FW: v1.0.1.60] | Switch: Netgear GS108Tv2 [FW: v5.4.2.13]
UPS: APC BackUPS ES-700uk [1st Gen]
User avatar
gibxxi
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom
ReadyNAS: Repertoire

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby erupter » Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:35 pm

My Corsair VS1GSDS400 doesn't boot.
Passes memory tests, but no boot.
So maybe you're just on the verge of stability.
Nas: NV+
erupter
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:18 pm
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Corsair VS1GSDS400/EU 1GB in Duo

Postby pugilares » Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:59 am

Yesterday put Corsair VS1GSDS400 1GB RAM chip into my Duo v1 (SPARC) mk2 (vel. RND2000 v2). Firmware 4.1.10. I just bought this RAM chip brand new from the big shop yesterday, so I think it's not the old make of this RAM chip (but maybe it spent few years on the shelf before I came to grab it).
Unit booted normally from the first time showing 1024 MB RAM [2.5-3-3-7].
Then it worked under load all night. In the morning I run memory test (only once) and passed OK.
By the way - it's not really necessary to unplug power cord from the ReadyNAS after 8 stage memory test is finished okay. I just pressed the power button for 2 sec. and unit booted to it's normal state. It works now for some more hours loaded with SMB, FTP, Wordpress and something more and OK.

P.S. After one week I returnet the memory chip to the vendor. Why? There was problem with rebooting ReadyNAS - it hanged. With original memory chip it's ok.
pugilares
Advanced ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 6:09 am
ReadyNAS: Duo


Return to Memory



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest