Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby fbmachines » Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:43 am

After updating to the final RAIDiator 4.2.16 release, my 8 GB of RAM is fully listed in Frontview as 8192 MB instead of 8064 MB. Maybe they released the reserve. I'd be interested to see if anyone else using 4 GB of RAM gets the full amount in Frontview now too.
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby sdouek » Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:24 pm

I see fbmachins post is for the new pro series -200, I do not think it will work on the old pro series the -100. If any one can confirm that it works on the old pro -100 series that would be much appreciated.

fbachines have you notice any improvement and if so how much ?
Last edited by sdouek on Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits."
-- Albert Einstein
"And sometimes I feel I have no limits" :hammer:

NAS: Business Pro :: 2048MB ram :: 6 x 2.0 TB ST32000644NS :: 4.2.22 * NV+ :: 1024MB ram :: 4 x 750 GB ST3750640NS :: 4.1.10 * NV :: 256MB ram :: 4 x 2.0 TB ST32000542AS :: 4.1.10 * DUO :: 1024 MB ram :: 2 x 500 GB ST3500320AS :: 4.1.10
Using: CIFS * NFS * RSYNC * HTTPS * FTP * ReadyDLNA * ReadyNas Photos * ReadyNas Remote * BitTorrent * Transmissions* Skifta
Network: D-Link DIR-855 * Cisco SG300-28P SRW2024P-K9-NA * D-Link DGS-2208 * Cisco SG100D-08 * Cisco SG100D-05
Clients: XP SP3 * Windows 7 * Windows 2003 Server * Play Station 3 * XBox 360 * Control4
UPS: APC Backup-Ups XS 1000

HCL-Hardware Compatibility List | FAQ | Readynas Comparison Chart | Readynas How To Guides | Readynas Add-Ons | Community Add-Ons | Archived Add-Ons | GPL |
How to make the NAS completely open | Preventing Catastrophic Data Loss | Technical Support Numbers | Technical Support Online Submissions |
User avatar
sdouek
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:04 am
Location: Hiding behind my NAS in NYC
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby sdouek » Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:55 pm

And another question what is the exact model number of memory you are using ?
"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits."
-- Albert Einstein
"And sometimes I feel I have no limits" :hammer:

NAS: Business Pro :: 2048MB ram :: 6 x 2.0 TB ST32000644NS :: 4.2.22 * NV+ :: 1024MB ram :: 4 x 750 GB ST3750640NS :: 4.1.10 * NV :: 256MB ram :: 4 x 2.0 TB ST32000542AS :: 4.1.10 * DUO :: 1024 MB ram :: 2 x 500 GB ST3500320AS :: 4.1.10
Using: CIFS * NFS * RSYNC * HTTPS * FTP * ReadyDLNA * ReadyNas Photos * ReadyNas Remote * BitTorrent * Transmissions* Skifta
Network: D-Link DIR-855 * Cisco SG300-28P SRW2024P-K9-NA * D-Link DGS-2208 * Cisco SG100D-08 * Cisco SG100D-05
Clients: XP SP3 * Windows 7 * Windows 2003 Server * Play Station 3 * XBox 360 * Control4
UPS: APC Backup-Ups XS 1000

HCL-Hardware Compatibility List | FAQ | Readynas Comparison Chart | Readynas How To Guides | Readynas Add-Ons | Community Add-Ons | Archived Add-Ons | GPL |
How to make the NAS completely open | Preventing Catastrophic Data Loss | Technical Support Numbers | Technical Support Online Submissions |
User avatar
sdouek
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:04 am
Location: Hiding behind my NAS in NYC
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby fbmachines » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:05 am

sdouek wrote:And another question what is the exact model number of memory you are using ?


viewtopic.php?p=276089#p276089

I've been using it since December. And mainly using it for VirtualBox. The only change with 4.2.16 is that it added back the missing 128 MB RAM in Frontview.
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby sdouek » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:51 pm

fbmachines wrote:
sdouek wrote:And another question what is the exact model number of memory you are using ?


viewtopic.php?p=276089#p276089

I've been using it since December. And mainly using it for VirtualBox. The only change with 4.2.16 is that it added back the missing 128 MB RAM in Frontview.


That will teach me to read.
"The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits."
-- Albert Einstein
"And sometimes I feel I have no limits" :hammer:

NAS: Business Pro :: 2048MB ram :: 6 x 2.0 TB ST32000644NS :: 4.2.22 * NV+ :: 1024MB ram :: 4 x 750 GB ST3750640NS :: 4.1.10 * NV :: 256MB ram :: 4 x 2.0 TB ST32000542AS :: 4.1.10 * DUO :: 1024 MB ram :: 2 x 500 GB ST3500320AS :: 4.1.10
Using: CIFS * NFS * RSYNC * HTTPS * FTP * ReadyDLNA * ReadyNas Photos * ReadyNas Remote * BitTorrent * Transmissions* Skifta
Network: D-Link DIR-855 * Cisco SG300-28P SRW2024P-K9-NA * D-Link DGS-2208 * Cisco SG100D-08 * Cisco SG100D-05
Clients: XP SP3 * Windows 7 * Windows 2003 Server * Play Station 3 * XBox 360 * Control4
UPS: APC Backup-Ups XS 1000

HCL-Hardware Compatibility List | FAQ | Readynas Comparison Chart | Readynas How To Guides | Readynas Add-Ons | Community Add-Ons | Archived Add-Ons | GPL |
How to make the NAS completely open | Preventing Catastrophic Data Loss | Technical Support Numbers | Technical Support Online Submissions |
User avatar
sdouek
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:04 am
Location: Hiding behind my NAS in NYC
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby MikeMcr » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:28 am

fbmachines wrote:After updating to the final RAIDiator 4.2.16 release, my 8 GB of RAM is fully listed in Frontview as 8192 MB instead of 8064 MB. Maybe they released the reserve. I'd be interested to see if anyone else using 4 GB of RAM gets the full amount in Frontview now too.

Has anyone tried a memory test in 4.2.16? I just installed 8GB (2x4GB), the same model listed in this thread, into a PRO6 and the memory test gets stuck at exactly 100% pass 1 (just before it rolls onto pass 2). The time continues to count up but the progress stays on 100%, Pass 1, Err 0.
MikeMcr
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:51 pm

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby fbmachines » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:37 am

MikeMcr wrote:
fbmachines wrote:After updating to the final RAIDiator 4.2.16 release, my 8 GB of RAM is fully listed in Frontview as 8192 MB instead of 8064 MB. Maybe they released the reserve. I'd be interested to see if anyone else using 4 GB of RAM gets the full amount in Frontview now too.

Has anyone tried a memory test in 4.2.16? I just installed 8GB (2x4GB), the same model listed in this thread, into a PRO6 and the memory test gets stuck at exactly 100% pass 1 (just before it rolls onto pass 2). The time continues to count up but the progress stays on 100%, Pass 1, Err 0.


That's what I thought too but just let it continue. It is a lot of RAM and it takes awhile. I think I let mine sit for a hour or two before it finally moved on to pass 2. After that it seemed to not take so long between passes. Letting it run overnight was the best method for me because I was constantly checking it and it seemed to take sooo longgg!
Last edited by fbmachines on Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby MikeMcr » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:41 am

fbmachines wrote:That's what I thought too but just let it go. It is a lot of RAM and it takes awhile. I think I let mine sit for a couple of hours before it finally moved on to pass 2. After that it seemed to not take so long between passes.

Thanks for confirming that. I only wanted to do 2 passes so was really frustrated to see it stuck right at the end! Now I've rebooted and started again :(
MikeMcr
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:51 pm

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby gigiba » Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:39 am

When you upgrade to 8GB, what performance do you get?

I want to upgrade, but I don't know if I should. I would like to install more addon and specially, I am doing a lot of video streaming like plex.. etc. Please help me if I should pull the trigger since we know what memory works.

I have the Pro 6.

Thanks
gigiba
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:24 pm
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby ianmacd » Sat Jul 02, 2011 3:19 pm

gpwolfe wrote:I just wanted to say that the pro (rndp6000) works w/4GB DIMMs.

Specifically, at least, these:
DDR2 8GB (2x4GB) PC6400 800MHz PATRIOT PSD28G800K

Frontview shows:
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.2.15
Memory: 8064 MB [6-6-6-18 DDR2]


The time has come for me to purchase my third ReadyNAS and, naturally, more is better, so I'm looking at the RNDP6630-200EUS, the 18 Tb Pro 6.

It's so easy to come unstuck with memory -- so many types, such similar model numbers -- so I want to be very careful before I place the order.

The shop I usually buy from can get hold of the Patriot PSD28G800SK, which seems to be almost identical to what you installed. The only difference is that the 800S is CL5, whereas the 800 is CL6.

I've installed CL5 memory in a Pro Business Edition before, but I gather the Pro 2/4/6 has a new chassis.

Anyway, is there any reason to expect that the CL5 DIMMs wouldn't work here? Even if they should work, is there any reason to prefer CL6 memory over CL5 in this case?

Cheers,

Ian
Last edited by ianmacd on Sat Jul 09, 2011 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ian Macdonald

ReadyNAS Pro 6 RNDP6630 [8 Gb RAM: 6-6-6-18 DDR2 Patriot PSD28G800K / 6 x 3 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition RNDP6620 [4 Gb RAM: 4-5-5-18 DDR2 Kingston KVR800D2N5K2/4G / 6 x 2 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS NV+ RND4410 [1 Gb RAM: 2.5-3-3-7 / 4 x 1 Tb X-RAID]
(Ethernet) UPS: APC Smart-UPS RT5000 XL (monitored by all ReadyNAS systems)
HP ProCurve 2848 switch with 802.3ad LACP
http://caliban.org/
ianmacd
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby ianmacd » Mon Jul 04, 2011 5:26 am

Oops. I've just noticed that that memory is 200 pin, not 240 pin.

ianmacd wrote:
gpwolfe wrote:I just wanted to say that the pro (rndp6000) works w/4GB DIMMs.

Specifically, at least, these:
DDR2 8GB (2x4GB) PC6400 800MHz PATRIOT PSD28G800K

Frontview shows:
Firmware: RAIDiator 4.2.15
Memory: 8064 MB [6-6-6-18 DDR2]


The time has come for me to purchase my third ReadyNAS and, naturally, more is better, so I'm looking at the RNDP6630-200EUS, the 18 Tb Pro 6.

It's so easy to come unstuck with memory -- so many types, such similar model numbers -- so I want to be very careful before I place the order.

The shop I usually buy from can get hold of the Patriot PSD28G800SK, which seems to be almost identical to what you installed. The only difference is that the 800S is CL5, whereas the 800 is CL6.

I've installed CL5 memory in a Pro Business Edition before, but I gather the Pro 2/4/6 has a new chassis.

Anyway, is there any reason to expect that the CL5 DIMMs wouldn't work here? Even if they should work, is there any reason to prefer CL6 memory over CL5 in this case?

Cheers,

Ian
Last edited by ianmacd on Sat Jul 09, 2011 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ian Macdonald

ReadyNAS Pro 6 RNDP6630 [8 Gb RAM: 6-6-6-18 DDR2 Patriot PSD28G800K / 6 x 3 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition RNDP6620 [4 Gb RAM: 4-5-5-18 DDR2 Kingston KVR800D2N5K2/4G / 6 x 2 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS NV+ RND4410 [1 Gb RAM: 2.5-3-3-7 / 4 x 1 Tb X-RAID]
(Ethernet) UPS: APC Smart-UPS RT5000 XL (monitored by all ReadyNAS systems)
HP ProCurve 2848 switch with 802.3ad LACP
http://caliban.org/
ianmacd
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby ianmacd » Sat Jul 09, 2011 9:44 am

ianmacd wrote:The time has come for me to purchase my third ReadyNAS and, naturally, more is better, so I'm looking at the RNDP6630-200EUS, the 18 Tb Pro 6.


The new 18 Tb Pro 6 arrived during the week, as did my Patriot PSD28G800K memory, which I had to purchase from a shop in Ireland, because I couldn't find that model in the Netherlands.

My new beast is up and running after 7 successful passes through the memory check.

My only complaint with this unit so far (if you can even call it that) is that the Seagate ST33000650NS drives that came with it are unbelievably noisy. The unit is in the cupboard under the stairs, so it doesn't matter in my case, but you really wouldn't want this box anywhere near you while you're working.
Ian Macdonald

ReadyNAS Pro 6 RNDP6630 [8 Gb RAM: 6-6-6-18 DDR2 Patriot PSD28G800K / 6 x 3 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS Pro Business Edition RNDP6620 [4 Gb RAM: 4-5-5-18 DDR2 Kingston KVR800D2N5K2/4G / 6 x 2 Tb X-RAID2 / 802.3ad LACP teaming: 2000 Mbit / Full-Duplex]
ReadyNAS NV+ RND4410 [1 Gb RAM: 2.5-3-3-7 / 4 x 1 Tb X-RAID]
(Ethernet) UPS: APC Smart-UPS RT5000 XL (monitored by all ReadyNAS systems)
HP ProCurve 2848 switch with 802.3ad LACP
http://caliban.org/
ianmacd
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby spiderman » Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:53 am

As I will be purchasing a new diskless Readynas Pro 6 shortly, can those who have posted on this thread confirm that the following ram will
work on this unit:

Patriot Signature 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model PSD24G8002

Thanks guys.

:D
NAS Product 1: ReadyNAS Pro 6 8192 MB [6-6-6-18 DDR2]
RAIDiator Version: RAIDiator-x86 Version: 6.2 Beta
RAID Configuration: RAID Level X-RAID (Single Redundancy)
Hard Disk Brand, Model, Capacity & Number: Seagate ST31000524NS 1TB x 6
ReadyNAS Security Mode: User

NAS Product 2: ReadyNAS Pro 3968 MB [4-5-5-15 DDR2]
RAIDiator Version: RAIDiator-x86 Version: 6.2 Beta
RAID Configuration: RAID Level X-RAID2 (Dual Redundant)
Hard Disk Brand, Model, Capacity & Number: Seagate ST31000528AS 1TB x 6
ReadyNAS Security Mode: User

Network Router/Switch/UPS: WNDR3700, Netgear GS108T, APC Back-UPS RS 1200 LCD
Computers: Sony VAIO VPCF11C53-FZ21Z/Core i7 Q720 1.6 GHZ/8 gb ram/500gb Seagate/Windows 7 Ultimate
Shuttle XPC SX58J3/Core i7 980x Extreme Edition 3.33 GHZ /16 gb ram/1TB Western Digital/Esx 4.1
Macbook Pro 15" Retina/Core i7 4850-HQ 2.3 GHz/16gb ram/512gb SSD PCIe/OSX Mavericks

"I don't suppose I could convince you to come up here and fight like a spider?" - Spider Man
User avatar
spiderman
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:16 pm
Location: Rome,Italy
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby fbmachines » Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:15 am

spiderman wrote:As I will be purchasing a new diskless Readynas Pro 6 shortly, can those who have posted on this thread confirm that the following ram will
work on this unit:

Patriot Signature 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model PSD24G8002


That's the model that I use and it has been running great. I haven't tried running just one stick though. Is that what you plan to do?

If so, I can remove 1 stick and give it a whirl.
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Boo-Yah! 8GB (2x4GB) works in pro.

Postby spiderman » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:13 am

the model that I use and it has been running great. I haven't tried running just one stick though. Is that what you plan to do?


No, I want to install the full 8 gb.

I'll let everyone know on the thread how it works once I get the unit and set it up.

Thanks for replying.

:D
NAS Product 1: ReadyNAS Pro 6 8192 MB [6-6-6-18 DDR2]
RAIDiator Version: RAIDiator-x86 Version: 6.2 Beta
RAID Configuration: RAID Level X-RAID (Single Redundancy)
Hard Disk Brand, Model, Capacity & Number: Seagate ST31000524NS 1TB x 6
ReadyNAS Security Mode: User

NAS Product 2: ReadyNAS Pro 3968 MB [4-5-5-15 DDR2]
RAIDiator Version: RAIDiator-x86 Version: 6.2 Beta
RAID Configuration: RAID Level X-RAID2 (Dual Redundant)
Hard Disk Brand, Model, Capacity & Number: Seagate ST31000528AS 1TB x 6
ReadyNAS Security Mode: User

Network Router/Switch/UPS: WNDR3700, Netgear GS108T, APC Back-UPS RS 1200 LCD
Computers: Sony VAIO VPCF11C53-FZ21Z/Core i7 Q720 1.6 GHZ/8 gb ram/500gb Seagate/Windows 7 Ultimate
Shuttle XPC SX58J3/Core i7 980x Extreme Edition 3.33 GHZ /16 gb ram/1TB Western Digital/Esx 4.1
Macbook Pro 15" Retina/Core i7 4850-HQ 2.3 GHz/16gb ram/512gb SSD PCIe/OSX Mavericks

"I don't suppose I could convince you to come up here and fight like a spider?" - Spider Man
User avatar
spiderman
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:16 pm
Location: Rome,Italy
ReadyNAS: Pro

PreviousNext

Return to Memory



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest