Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby ChristianoNL » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:40 am

Good day everyone!

I have a question about the ReadyNAS Ultra 2 memory upgrade.
A couple of months ago I bought this new NAS for my home to backup, download and share files!
Today I’ve upgraded the memory of this NAS from 1 GB ASint Sodimm DDR3 1066 mhz to 2GB Corsair Sodimm DDR 1333 mhz.

2 Hours ago i started the memory test of this device, the pattern lit goes form
1. Disk 1 lit
2. Disk 2 lit
3. Power button lit
4. USB lit

I this the correct way to test my memory right, or is my memory bad?
I've searched this forum but i cannot find any information about the Ultra 2 to run memory test.

Thanks Alot!
Bye... :shock:
ChristianoNL
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:23 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby mdgm » Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:18 pm

The memory test runs in a loop until it encounters a problem or is stopped. If still running after a few hours or so memory should be fine
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31905
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby ChristianoNL » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:49 pm

Dear mdgm,

Thank you very much for your anwser.
The memory test ran for about 10 hours straight without any problems, when I looked this morning the test still runs.
So I can tell my memory should be fine.

For people they want to upgrade they memory also:
Its Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066

Thanks for your help!
ChristianoNL
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:23 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby drSeehas » Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:09 am

Here it is a DDR3 2 GB SODIMM from Samsung: M471B5773DH0-CH9. The memory test ran for hours now, memory should be fine.
drSeehas
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Ravensburg, Germany
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby Royan » Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:43 am

Well...

Readynas Pro 2
I have tried both
Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066 WITH 8 chips per side and
Kingston KVR1066D3S7/2G, also with 8 chips on each side.

Neither of them work.
When I start the nas, the fan just spins up and never slows down.
Only the power light lights up, all of the indicator lights stay dead.

So the quest goes on... well, maybe later :)

brgds
Royan
Royan
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:04 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby drSeehas » Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:54 am

Royan wrote:...
Readynas Pro 2
Should be the same hardware.
I have tried both
Corsair Valueram DDR3 1066 mhz Sodimm CM3X2GSD1066 WITH 8 chips per side and
Kingston KVR1066D3S7/2G, also with 8 chips on each side.
So you have 16 chips total on each module?
My working 2-GB-module has only 8 chips total.
I think this is the difference.
drSeehas
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Ravensburg, Germany
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby Royan » Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:30 pm

yep,
and as far as I can tell, all the newer batches of CM3X2GSD1066 have 16 chips. :(

brgds
Royan
Royan
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:04 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby drSeehas » Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:40 pm

Royan wrote:... all the newer batches of CM3X2GSD1066 have 16 chips. ...
That is the reason, why I prefer to buy my modules made by e.g. Samsung or Hynix: You can be sure you get always the same modules as long as you order the same part number.
Corsair, Kingston & Co sell different modules under the same part number.
drSeehas
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Ravensburg, Germany
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby dannyleesmith80 » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:38 am

Have any of you guys tried a 4gb memory module and had any success yet i have tried 1 so far and had no luck for upgrading the ram from 1gb to 4gb what was CT51264BC1067 Not Compatible but this was laid out as a 256 x 64 as it 2 x 8 cant see why it had that code as it should of been CT25664BC1067
Last edited by dannyleesmith80 on Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:27 am, edited 2 times in total.
dannyleesmith80
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:33 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby JarnoG » Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:11 pm

I want to upgrade the memory of my Ultra 2 to 4GB. Does anyone have any experience with this?
JarnoG
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:46 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby dannyleesmith80 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:21 pm

JarnoG wrote:I want to upgrade the memory of my Ultra 2 to 4GB. Does anyone have any experience with this?

I am still on a search my self m8 i will post if i find one that works
dannyleesmith80
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:33 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby dannyleesmith80 » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:56 pm

has any one tried the 4gb CT51264BC1067 as i am using the 2gb CT25664BC10 and it work fine i will get one next week and try it if not
dannyleesmith80
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:33 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby JarnoG » Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:36 am

I tried the Kingston KTH-X3B/4G (4GB, 16 chips) last night and that one doesn't work.
JarnoG
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:46 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby dannyleesmith80 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:58 pm

CT51264BC1339 4 GB DDR3 RAM its a 512 x 64 memory module from Crucial mite be the next option. It has 8 x chips seems to only accept modules with 8 x chips only by the look of it. at the moment I am using a 2gb crucial 256 x 64 at the moment and it works fine faster speed ram also 10600 its doing the job
dannyleesmith80
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:33 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Memory test ReadyNAS Ultra 2

Postby JarnoG » Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:15 pm

Do not work:
Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G (4GB, 16 chips)
Nanya NT2GC64B8HA1NS-BE (2GB, 16 chips)
Elpida 2Rx8 PC3-10600S-9-10-F1 (2GB, 16 chips)

How's the Crucial memory working out?
JarnoG
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:46 am
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Next

Return to Memory



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests