Help with direct connection to PC

For those who cannot wait for the official releases, we'll occasionally post test releases here. This includes the NV+(v1)/Duo(v1)/NV/1100/1000/X6/600/ models.
WARNING: use at your own risk!

Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Hyland » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:21 am

I would like to connect my ReadyNAS Duo directly to my PC, but it is not working.

I have followed the instructions for doing so at the FAQ (faq.php#How_do_I_direct-connect_between_ReadyNAS_and_PC%2FMac%3F)

The static IP is working.

When connected & powered up, the following occurs:
1) a "limited or no connectivity" message is displayed in the network connection icon in the task bar
2) RAIDar sees the unit, and shows 192.168.168.168 as the IP address
3) Clicking on the "browse" button in RAIDar results in a "\\192.168.168.168 The network path was not found" message
4) Clicking on the "locate" button in RAIDar results in a message saying the lights are blinking, but they do not blink on the unit.
5) Clicking on the "setup" button in RAIDar results in this message "The NAS device you selected is on a different subnet. To access this device, change your IP address to 192.168.168.x, click "rescan", and try again." - this doesn't seem right, my router says I can only have static IPs from 192.168.1.x where x is over some small number but not greater than 99.

Anyone seen this before, or just knows what is wrong?

Other info:

A) CABLES: I don't know what the difference is between a straight or crossover Ethernet cable. The the two Ethernet cables I have give the same result above. I have "checked" the cables to see if they are good by direct connection between a PC & router (with wireless modem OFF), and both give the PC internet access (they work) in this configuarion. Of course, that means nothing if I don't have the right cable in the first place. These same cables also successfully connected the ReadyNAS directly to the router when I had it all hooked up like that.

B) CODE: The firmware and RAIDar are the latest versions (as of 11/10/2008)

Any help is appreciated!
Hyland
Hyland
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:06 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Dooku » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:24 am

Did you set the pc ip address to something like 192.168.168.125 ?
User avatar
Dooku
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: San Jose CA
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Hyland » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:34 am

My static IP is: 192.168.1.27

My router only allows static IPs from 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.99
Hyland
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:06 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Hyland » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:38 am

Just in case I missed something, this is what my router (in part) said to do:

"...Make sure the IP Address you'll be assigning the computer has the same first three numbers as the Default Gateway and the last number can be any number between 2 and 99..."

My default gateway is 192.168.1.1
Hyland
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:06 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Dooku » Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:40 am

If you are directly connecting the Duo to the pc the router should not matter please change the pc ip address to 192.168.168.125. The first three number sets matter so the pc ip address must start with 192.168.168. Once you access the nas you can assign a static ip to the nas in the range of 192.168.1. so the rest of the computers on your network can see it.
User avatar
Dooku
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: San Jose CA
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Hyland » Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:15 am

That worked! Thanks.

I set my Ethernet card's IP address to 192.168.168.27 and kept my wireless card's IP address at 192.168.1.27. I have access to both internet and ReadyNAS.

Thank you so much for the help! :D

Hyland
Hyland
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:06 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Hyland » Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:54 am

After connecting the Duo to the PC directly I have noticed that the internet connection actually does NOT work (most of the time) when the Duo is powered up. Both worked briefly simultaneously yesterday.

Is there a way to have the Duo connected to my computer directly, and have an internet connection at the same time?

At this point, I do not need other computers on the router to see the Duo - and I would prefer it to stay that way.

Any help is appreciated!
Hyland
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:06 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby TokyoBrit » Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:58 am

I've searched the forum, and read the FAQ and the manual, but I can't seem to find where it says what the factory default IP address and subnet mask is for a ReadyNAS Duo.

Posts I've seen range from 192.168.168.x to 192.168.9.x and everything in between.

The screenshot in the quick setup guide seems to imply 192.168.1.100.

So which is it?
TokyoBrit
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:50 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Dooku » Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:29 am

Default ip address is 192.168.168.168 and mask will be 255.255.255.0
User avatar
Dooku
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: San Jose CA
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby hm1 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:18 am

I have a ReadyNas Duo that I reset back to Defaults. I expected it to be at 192.168.168.168 but Raidar can not find it .. I havemy PC set to 192.168.168.100 ... The blue light is flashing indicating system activity .. Is it that I am not waiting long enough for it to complete a full factory reset ??
I can not ping the IP address or connect via the browser ... ??
hm1
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:10 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Dooku » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:56 am

If the blue light is flashing, it means it has not booted up yet. Is the activity led flashing also?
It is possible that you might have a bad drive in the system. One thing you can try is power the system down, remove all the drives and boot up without the drives and see if raidar detects the unit.
User avatar
Dooku
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: San Jose CA
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby hm1 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:29 am

Ok.. Removed the drives and rebooted it... I can ping the device now @ 192.168.168.168 .. The blue light is still flashing ,but now the rest of the lights flash as well. Raidar still cannot see the NAS and I can not connect to via a web browser ... any ideas
hm1
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:10 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby dbott67 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:32 am

You need at least 1 drive installed in order for the NAS to boot.
User avatar
dbott67
ReadyNAS Fanatic
 
Posts: 8528
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:20 am
Location: District 9
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby Dooku » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:57 am

You will not be able to access the device without the drives in it. but raidar should be able to detect the unit. Do you have any sort of firewall or Internet security software installed on your computer. As it might be blocking raidar.
User avatar
Dooku
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 3119
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: San Jose CA
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Help with direct connection to PC

Postby hm1 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:39 am

Not sure why.. But I took Drives out replaced one drive... NAS booted and I can see it . I put the second drive back in and it started to synch ... Thanks for your help
hm1
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:10 am
ReadyNAS: Duo


Return to Public RAIDiator Beta for ReadyNAS NV+/Duo/1100



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 3 guests