Anti-Virus for ReadyNAS N+

Please post all that you want from a ReadyNAS here. Nothing guaranteed, but we'll certainly do our best if you make a good case for it.

Anti-Virus for ReadyNAS N+

Postby pedi » Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:47 am

I am quite new to ReadyNAS, FTP etc. :oops:

Could somebody recommend a anti-virus software for the ReadyNAS, so e.g. if somebody copies a file via FTP to my ReadyNAS that this file will be scanned for viruses.
Internally my PC clients run F-Secure Antivirus 2007.

Thx
Pedi
pedi
ReadyNAS Newbie

ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: Anti-Virus for ReadyNAS N+

Postby dbott67 » Sat Apr 19, 2008 6:50 am

Under normal circumstances, running an AV program on Linux is not required provided that you are running an AV client on your PCs. Most viruses are written for the Windows platform and cannot run on Linux.

That said, if you are just trying to add another layer of protection, you can always install 'clamav'. More details about clam here:

http://www.clamav.net/

Installation Steps for ReadyNAS:

1. Install the EnableRootSSH add-on.

2. Install an SSH client on your PC (such as PuTTY).

3. SSH into your NAS as root (i.e. ssh root@ip.address.of.nas). The password is your admin password (originally 'netgear1')

4. Install the APT add-on.

5. Update your package list:
Code: Select all
apt-get update

6. Install 'clamav':
Code: Select all
apt-get install clamav

The add-ons above can be found under the "Shell Access Patches" listed here:
http://www.readynas.com/?page_id=94

Before doing this, you may want to wait for an official 'blessing' from one of the Jedi council.

-Dave
dbott67
ReadyNAS Fanatic

ReadyNAS: Pro

Postby chirpa » Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:06 pm

I installed clamav a few months back on one of my test 1100s. Haven't seen any harm from it, but at the same time, I haven't given it a full testing by dropping bad files on it.
chirpa
Jedi Council Alumni

ReadyNAS: Repertoire

Postby evandro » Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:09 pm