How to connect a UPS

This forum will be deprecated soon. Please post issues pertaining to boot, installation, upgrade, and expansion in the appropriate forums above.

How to connect a UPS

Postby Desperado » Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:45 pm

I'm having trouble getting my Pioneer Pro to recognize my UPS (an APC Back-UPS ES 650, on the compatibility list). The UPS doesn't have a USB connection - just an ethernet data port. The UPS didn't come with a cable, so today I went to Radio Shack and picked up one of these. I opened the box and found out that drivers have to be installed, and that they only work with Windows or Macs...so apparently this thing won't work on a ReadyNAS. Is there a way I connect to my UPS without using an adapter with drivers?
NAS: Netgear ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro - 2x1TB Seagate, 2x2TB WD
Router: D-Link DIR-825 Wireless Gigabit Router
Switch: Netgear GS-608 Unmanaged Gigabit Switch
Media Player: Sony Playstation 3
HDTV: Samsung 50" DLP (HLN507W)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D630, Windows XP Pro 2002 SP3, 2GB RAM
Desperado
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:42 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby rccoleman » Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:14 pm

My UPS has an RJ45 socket on it, but the included cable has RJ45 on one end and USB on the other. I'm not sure why they did that, but a cable is a cable. What you bought is a completely different animal.

Rob
rccoleman
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:38 am

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby Desperado » Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:23 pm

rccoleman wrote:My UPS has an RJ45 socket on it, but the included cable has RJ45 on one end and USB on the other. I'm not sure why they did that, but a cable is a cable. What you bought is a completely different animal.

Rob


Yeah, I seem to be missing that cable. I bought the UPS four years ago and never needed it until now, so who knows where it is. I'm having a hard time finding a replacement cable online that doesn't involve an adapter box.
NAS: Netgear ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro - 2x1TB Seagate, 2x2TB WD
Router: D-Link DIR-825 Wireless Gigabit Router
Switch: Netgear GS-608 Unmanaged Gigabit Switch
Media Player: Sony Playstation 3
HDTV: Samsung 50" DLP (HLN507W)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D630, Windows XP Pro 2002 SP3, 2GB RAM
Desperado
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:42 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby Davidny » Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:43 pm

You need to bring that back to the shack and get one of these.
User avatar
Davidny
Advanced ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:18 pm

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby Desperado » Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:03 pm

Never mind! After turning this place upside down for the last hour, I finally found the cable that came with the UPS. It was in a box of miscellaneous crap I never unpacked when I moved here two years ago. I hooked it up, and my trusty Pioneer recognized it immediately! :D

Thanks anyway. Now I have to go back to Radio Shack....
NAS: Netgear ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro - 2x1TB Seagate, 2x2TB WD
Router: D-Link DIR-825 Wireless Gigabit Router
Switch: Netgear GS-608 Unmanaged Gigabit Switch
Media Player: Sony Playstation 3
HDTV: Samsung 50" DLP (HLN507W)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D630, Windows XP Pro 2002 SP3, 2GB RAM
Desperado
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:42 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby Keith_Beef » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:25 am

I have another question...

I have been running my main system from an APC Back-UPS XS1300 for a year, and just got a ReadyNAS NV+ also powered from the same UPS.

The signal cable goes to the main computer, but I'd like to be able to connect the signal cable to the NAS and have the NAS signal power failures over the network to the main computer.

You see, there are times when the main computer is off, but the NAS is on serving up files to other computers (a Vaio notebook and a MacBook).
K.
Keith_Beef
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:50 am
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: How to connect a UPS

Postby dbott67 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:47 am

Plug the USB cable into the NAS and let it control the devices on your network. See this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16744&start=0

-Dave
User avatar
dbott67
ReadyNAS Fanatic
 
Posts: 8528
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:20 am
Location: District 9
ReadyNAS: Pro


Return to General Issues with Boot, Installation, Upgrade, and Expansion



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests