Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Please post questions regarding performance of the ReadyNAS here. (How to optimize the ReadyNAS performance)

Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby roveer » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:28 pm

I'm setting up my pro 6 and am considering enabling drive spin-down. The thought of all those drives spinning all the time seems a little wasteful. There will likely be large periods of time where there will be no NAS activity. I'll put the NAS on a UPS and configure it for shutdown on power failure.

The Pro 6 will be used to house my media library. Music & Video served via mapped drives and the DLNA server. This NAS will also be the target of nightly backups from my office computer. I'm wondering how the NAS will respond when a computer tries to copy to it when it's spun down? Does it start to cache the data while it starts up the drives? How is the DLNA server affected by drive spindown?

Anyone have a pro's & con's discussion about this and make a determination to not use this option or has anyone determined that it works great? I've never had good luck with drive spin-down or sleep options. Something always seems to go wrong.
roveer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:19 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby mtakacs » Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:16 pm

There was a questions somewhere on the forums (found it. -tak) where he was reporting 8 second "spin-up" times accessing his shared media on the Duo v2. I've got an NV+ v2 and I think I'm seeing that delay as well.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=59376

I've also been wondering how that's supposed to work when I want to write to the drive or do a DLNA media request

I'd be happy to learn it works "well" and caches/buffers the write / request until the drives spin up.

-mark
NAS: 516, ProPioneer ::6 x 4.0TB Seagate ST4000DM000:: 6.1.4
Network: ATT Uverse - Cat6 / Netgear GS108T x2
Clients: OS X 10.9 / iOS
User avatar
mtakacs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:18 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby roveer » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:09 am

I'm going to experiment with it for both of my needs, DLNA and file copy before I build my final configuration. I'll post back results of what I find out. Sure would be nice to save some energy and wear and tear.

Roveer
roveer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 7:19 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby TeknoJnky » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:20 am

as far as my experience, there is no read/write caching during spin up, regardless if you are trying to read or write, your app will wait (sometimes appearing as 'hung') until the nas responds with the requested data read/write. The same thing happens when you have spin down on your PC hardrives.
nv+ ~ 1gb ram ~ 4x WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 ~ 5555 GB ~ power supply dead
ultra4 ~ 4 gb ram ~
pro business ~ 4gb ram ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DX000-1C5160 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 10tb
pro 6 ~ 4gb ram ~ dual redundancy ~ 4x Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 14tb
A/V streaming ---> Subsonic ---> HTC One ~ Note 2 ~ Nexus 7
User avatar
TeknoJnky
ReadyNAS Addict
 
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: MO
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby AMRivlin » Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:56 am

Quick question: What's the point? I think spin up and spin down would cause more wear than just running it all the time.
My electricity costs 8 cents/kWh. so running the readynas pro6 24/7 365 = $60 (.08cost*82w*24*365/1000)

I don't mean to sound snobbish, but $5 a month is hardly a major expense considering the expense of the device.
AMRivlin
Advanced ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Drive Spin-Down on a Pro 6. Can it really work?

Postby TeknoJnky » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:28 pm

AMRivlin wrote:$5 a month is hardly a major expense considering the expense of the device.


agreed. but of course other areas of the world have more expensive energy

I don't know if its possible, but personally I am more paranoid of drives spinning up out of sync (or failing to wake up at all) and causing the array to rebuild or worse lose data.
nv+ ~ 1gb ram ~ 4x WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 ~ 5555 GB ~ power supply dead
ultra4 ~ 4 gb ram ~
pro business ~ 4gb ram ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DX000-1C5160 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 10tb
pro 6 ~ 4gb ram ~ dual redundancy ~ 4x Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 14tb
A/V streaming ---> Subsonic ---> HTC One ~ Note 2 ~ Nexus 7
User avatar
TeknoJnky
ReadyNAS Addict
 
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: MO
ReadyNAS: Pro


Return to Performance



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests