Hiding a share with CIFS effectively disables the ability to use it with any other protocol on the NAS (As it warns you when you select the feature), this includes FTP Access. The protocols can be accessed, and changed but any changes won't be saved until you disable the CIFS hiding feature on that share.
Hope this helps.
NAS1: Netgear ReadyNAS - Pro 4 [FW: 4.2.23-T6 - Drives: 4x SpinPoint F4 2TB - RAM: 4GB]
NAS2: Netgear Repertoire U4 (Chirpa Special) [FW: 4.2.23-T6 - Drives: 4x WD Red 2TB - RAM: 4GB]
Router: Netgear DGN3500_16M [FW: v1.1.00.33] | Switch: Netgear GS108Tv2 [FW: v220.127.116.11]
UPS: APC BackUPS ES-700uk [1st Gen]