ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Please post questions and issues pertaining to the ReadyNAS hardware and hardware compatibility here.

ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby poisonrain » Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:40 am

Hi,

I've had a ReadyNAS Duo for a couple of years and it's generally been ok, but has a weird 'feature' which is now causing problems.
When I add a second disk to the Duo it crashes - I hear the disk spin up and then everything just goes unresponsive. NAS is unresponsive, disappears off RAIDAR, etc. That's if I hot-add the 2nd disk.
If I shutdown the NAS and add it the Duo just never starts up properly at all (just sits there with the blue light blinking).

Both disks are the same size and are on the Hardware Compatibility List. I did used to be able to work around this issue by formating the 2nd disk in my PC and then adding it in to the Duo, then it would resync and work again, but as soon as there was a shutdown/power outage I'd have to reformat the disk if I wanted it to work. I've used many different disks on this drive, going to great lengths to source ones from the Hardware Compatibility List and this was the only way to get any of them to work. However now, even this has stopped working.

Can anyone tell me what's going on? Or point me in a direction to get this resolved?

Thanks,
PR
poisonrain
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:12 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby poisonrain » Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:40 am

PS. I'm on the latest firmware (4.1.7 and now 4.1.8).
poisonrain
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:12 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby sphardy » Sun Dec 04, 2011 5:13 am

Sounds like the 2nd disk is bad - try testing it with vendor tools if you can plug it into a PC, else you might just have to replace it

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby poisonrain » Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:23 am

It's a WD drive (identical to disk1) and WD Data Lifeguard says it's fine.
Any other ideas?

PR
poisonrain
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:12 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby sphardy » Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:39 am

It is still possible that the disk is bad. I'd suggest:

1. Power down the NAS
2. Remove the good drive
3. Place the other drive in the same slot that you just removed the good drive
4. Power Up and perform a factory default and see if the unit boots (see FAQ for instructions)

This will help narrow down if the drive truly is at fault or if the issue is with the slot in the NAS. If the NAS boots and and is accessible you have a strong case to contact Netgear support re. replacing the NAS (assuming you are still in the warranty period) as you may have a faulty slot. If it does not boot, you may wish to exchange the disk.

To restore your original disk - simply power down and replace in the original slot. The NAS will boot as before

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby poisonrain » Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:57 pm

Yep - restart with factory defaults and 2nd disk (in 1st disk slot) worked fine. Visible in RAIDAR and fully accessible via http.

Off to Netgear support I go... hope it's better than last time

Thanks for the help!

PR
poisonrain
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:12 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby siburchy » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:21 am

Hi

I also have this exact problem, although sometimes the disk works for a short while and then fails. When you plug the disk into another machine all is well. As your problem mine seems isolated to the 2nd bay, i.e. putting problematic disks (yes I've tried numerous different drives) in bay 1 and the NAS is fine.

I am very interested to hear what happened with your case when you contacted Netgear? I'm actually considering chucking the thing in the bin and building my own.
siburchy
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:01 am

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby mdgm » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:34 am

Contact tech support. If your NAS is still under 3 year warranty and it's determined the NAS has a faulty drive bay you can get an RMA replacement.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33399
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby siburchy » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:05 pm

Thanks for your response, however it isn't still under warranty. So I think once I've built my own replacement box, it's bin bound...
siburchy
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:01 am

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby sladeywadey » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:07 am

siburchy wrote:Thanks for your response, however it isn't still under warranty. So I think once I've built my own replacement box, it's bin bound...



I'm afraid I'm going the same way with mine after over 3 years of ownership- into the bin the duo goes. No warranty and the device has started to plague me with problems (disks are fine). I'm switching to a HP microserver which has 4 bays for the same price as a new Duo. I don't think I've ever encountered a more fussy device than the Duo. :(
sladeywadey
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:03 am

Re: ReadyNas Duo 2nd disk problem

Postby wreeve » Wed Aug 07, 2013 4:58 pm

I have this exact same issue.
Thought one disk had failed, and I bought a new disk, but I now find that it looks like the issue is the bay, not the disk itself.
This is on a 5.5 year old Duo.
I have ordered a replacement readyNas, modern spec, but am wondering why I am loyal to Readynas when I have had a pretty miserable experience here - nothing in the logs, Raidar fails to respond - this is far from modern best practice.
wreeve
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:40 pm


Return to Hardware and Hardware Compatibility



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests