Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Please post questions or problems regarding the built-in backup manager in FrontView here.

Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:42 am

Is it possible to connect to the ReadyNAS via rsync, SSH or FTP, preferably rsync?

If I try to connect to the ReadyNAS via rsync right now, I get a connection refused on port 22.
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby sphardy » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:56 am

jasonswett wrote:Is it possible to connect to the ReadyNAS via rsync, SSH or FTP, preferably rsync?

Yes to all 3

jasonswett wrote:If I try to connect to the ReadyNAS via rsync right now, I get a connection refused on port 22.

Because port 22 is for SSH connections

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby atz6975 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:24 am

Lazy quick reply.
On Readynas:
1) Rsync must be enabled
2) Share must be exposed through rsync
3) If relevant(rsync on internet or personnal firewall on mac/ubuntu...) TCP port 873 must be open to access Readynas
4) Syntax to access Readynas,usually = rsync host:share/[path/[file]]. Better use man than trusting me
Nulla dies sine linea...
...of code?
atz6975
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:39 am
Location: Panam'
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:10 pm

Rsync is enabled in Services > Standard File Protocols, right? I have rsync checked there but I'm still getting this error:
Code: Select all
$ rsync 192.168.140.2:gob/
ssh: connect to host 192.168.140.2 port 22: Connection refused
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(601) [Receiver=3.0.7]
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby sphardy » Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:24 pm

Where does this error come from? Are you trying to rsync over ssh?

The root cause of the error however seems clear - ssh connection to host 192.168.140.2 fails, so you need to figure that. Can you directly ssh into that host?

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby atz6975 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:35 pm

I don't mean to be rude, but you need to be more precise.
Is gob a share? does it have Rsync checked? Do you really inted to do it over ssh? Do you have to (unless you do it over web: no you souldn't have to)? What is your client? Does it need to have rsync over ssh (strange)? Can you find some documentation (help, man) on your client? Are you familiar with ssh/rsync at all?
Last edited by atz6975 on Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nulla dies sine linea...
...of code?
atz6975
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:39 am
Location: Panam'
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby mdgm » Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:34 pm

Rsync over SSH is only available on the Pro Business Edition (not the Pioneer). Rsync is available on both.

The instructions provided by NetGear for Rsync over SSH are straightforward to follow.

Rsync uses port 873,
Rsync over SSH is tunnelling Rsync over SSH, so it uses the SSH port, which is 22.
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31933
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:38 am

I don't mean to be rude, but you need to be more precise.
Is gob a share? does it have Rsync checked? Do you really inted to do it over ssh? Do you have to (unless you do it over web: no you souldn't have to)? What is your client? Does it need to have rsync over ssh (strange)? Can you find some documentation (help, man) on your client? Are you familiar with ssh/rsync at all?

No problem. Yes, gob is a share. It doesn't have rsync "checked" (I don't know where I would check it) but it does have rsync enabled. I did that by going to Shares > Share Listing, clicking on the rsync piece of paper thing, and then changing Default Access to Read-Only. I don't really care, at least in the short term, whether it's done over SSH or not. My client is Ubuntu Linux, if that's what you mean. I use my Ubuntu machine to rsync to other machines with no problem and, as far as I know, it's not going over SSH. I am familiar with SSH and rsync; I use both of them almost daily.
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:42 am

The instructions provided by NetGear for Rsync over SSH are straightforward to follow.

I looked at those and I've looked at them before. There don't seem to be any explicit instructions on how to rsync from a remote machine to your ReadyNAS, only the other way around. Am I wrong?
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby mdgm » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:48 am

Good point. You would need to create the key using your remote machine, then install it on the ReadyNAS if you wished to use Rsync over SSH. Otherwise keep it simple and use ordinary Rsync.
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31933
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:04 am

Okay, I've done that. Under Shares > Share Listing when I click on the rsync paper, I have the option of specifying certain hosts that have access and/or creating rsync accounts. I'm doing neither, but I get the following when I try to rsync in:
Code: Select all
jason@tobias:~$ rsync jason@192.168.140.2:gob/ ~/gob
jason@192.168.140.2's password:
Permission denied, please try again.
jason@192.168.140.2's password:
Permission denied, please try again.
jason@192.168.140.2's password:
Permission denied (publickey,password).
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
rsync error: unexplained error (code 255) at io.c(601) [Receiver=3.0.7]

Why is it expecting both a public key and a password even though I don't have "Enable password protection" checked? Just as a test, I enabled password protection and created an account. It doesn't like my password then, either.
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby sphardy » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:23 am

You must have ssh enabled in the Frontview backup settings. Disable that and try again.

Also it appears you have enabled a user name and password in the rsync settings for the share

Try disabling that also to make the setup as simple as possible to at least get backups working - then you can start adding security

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby atz6975 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 9:54 am

This is not while using Frontview, the client is Ubuntu.
Rsync check means what you did Share Listing/gob/Rsync tab.
Next jason@ip must be declared as user jason+password on your rsync tab+it's ip in the hosts allowed
Also you must specify paths in source dest order (not like you did)
Have a look below on this man fragment and reconsider your syntax.
Can I be a little bit sarcastic and ask you to let us know if our effort made up for your lack of effort(from RTFM perspective :wink: )?
Code: Select all
rsync(1) - Linux man page

Name

rsync -- a fast, versatile, remote (and local) file-copying tool
Synopsis

Local:  rsync [OPTION...] SRC... [DEST]
Access via remote shell:
  Pull: rsync [OPTION...] [USER@]HOST:SRC... [DEST]
  Push: rsync [OPTION...] SRC... [USER@]HOST:DEST
Access via rsync daemon:
  Pull: rsync [OPTION...] [USER@]HOST::SRC... [DEST]
        rsync [OPTION...] rsync://[USER@]HOST[:PORT]/SRC... [DEST]
  Push: rsync [OPTION...] SRC... [USER@]HOST::DEST
        rsync [OPTION...] SRC... rsync://[USER@]HOST[:PORT]/DEST
Nulla dies sine linea...
...of code?
atz6975
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 9:39 am
Location: Panam'
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby jasonswett » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:23 am

I'm afraid I don't understand.

From the man:
Code: Select all
Pull: rsync [OPTION...] [USER@]HOST:SRC... [DEST]


What I'm doing, since user=jason, host=192.168.140.2, src=gob and dest=~/gob:
Code: Select all
rsync jason@192.168.140.2:gob/ ~/gob


I R'd the FM (a while ago) and that's what I came up with. If that's still wrong, it's due to a lack of understanding, not a lack of effort.

Next jason@ip must be declared as user jason+password on your rsync tab+it's ip in the hosts allowed

When I try that, same deal. It doesn't like my password.

Thanks for staying with me on this, by the way. I'm new to the whole backup thing and I appreciate the help.
Last edited by jasonswett on Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
jasonswett
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:12 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Connect to ReadyNAS via rsync?

Postby sphardy » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:34 am

Can you describe exactly what you are trying to do as the info provided is confusing - I'm not even sure which machine is the nas and which is the client any more

Maybe some screen shots of your NAS setup?

Btw I didn't understand @atz6975's last post either...

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Image
User avatar
sphardy
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:34 am
Location: France
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Next

Return to FrontView Backup



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests