Can't create backup Job

Please post questions or problems regarding the built-in backup manager in FrontView here.

Can't create backup Job

Postby mtakacs » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:01 pm

So I'm having a hard time getting my backup job to stick.

I had accidentally put all my data on my user share instead of the media share, and didnt trust a straight up "cp -pr" to move it over. So I figured I'd use the backup feature..

Frontview: Backups | Add a new Backup Job

step 1 - src: "home shares: mtakacs"
step 2 - destination: "share: media"
step 3 - Schedule: none
step 4 - Options: chown, FULL backup on first

APPY

an alert popped up telling me I'd created backup job001.

But there backup summary page didnt list anything. Is there anywhere I can look to see what the problem is? syslog? I have root ssh installed so I can poke around in log files,etc.
NAS: 516, ProPioneer ::6 x 4.0TB Seagate ST4000DM000:: 6.1.4
Network: ATT Uverse - Cat6 / Netgear GS108T x2
Clients: OS X 10.9 / iOS
User avatar
mtakacs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:18 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Can't create backup Job

Postby mtakacs » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:04 pm

So answering my own question:

I reviewed my configuration setup and it turns out I didnt have FTP or RSYNC enabled. Ooops.

I guess my request here would be to have the Backup panel give me an informative "Yo, you need to turn on RSYNC" rather than having me poke around and finally figure it out.

Is there a forum / bug tracker where I can file that as a feature request: "Notify user of invalid backup configuration when failing to create backup jobs" .. something like that?
NAS: 516, ProPioneer ::6 x 4.0TB Seagate ST4000DM000:: 6.1.4
Network: ATT Uverse - Cat6 / Netgear GS108T x2
Clients: OS X 10.9 / iOS
User avatar
mtakacs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:18 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Can't create backup Job

Postby mdgm » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:09 pm

Here's the feature request forum: http://readynas.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=18

Verify you still have the issue on the latest firmware before posting a request.

As for looking at the backup job configuration, you can download the configuration (System > Config Backup in Frontview) and take a look at /etc/cron.d/frontview-backup, or simply use the following shell command using SSH:
Code: Select all
MDGM-NAS:~# cat /etc/cron.d/frontview-backup
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31933
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Can't create backup Job

Postby mdgm » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:11 pm

If you have permission problems (e.g. other users can't access the files), you might need to take ownership of the files using the Advanced Options tab after moving the files across. See http://sphardy.com/web/readynas/how-to-setup-readynas-permissions/
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31933
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Can't create backup Job

Postby mtakacs » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:59 am

mtakacs wrote:I had accidentally put all my data on my user share instead of the media share, and didnt trust a straight up "cp -pr" to move it over.


LOL, I log into my NAS after kicking off a full backup and this is what I see:

Code: Select all
root      3650 24.4  0.1   5012  1672 ?        DN   Oct20  25:49 cp -va . /media/


ok then. :) Carry on.
NAS: 516, ProPioneer ::6 x 4.0TB Seagate ST4000DM000:: 6.1.4
Network: ATT Uverse - Cat6 / Netgear GS108T x2
Clients: OS X 10.9 / iOS
User avatar
mtakacs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:18 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Pro


Return to FrontView Backup



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests