Reset button........

Please post question and issues pertaining to ReadyNAS booting here.

Reset button........

Postby 6861elm » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:01 am

Where is the reset button located on the RND 2110?
6861elm
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:58 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: Reset button........

Postby Jedi Knight » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:19 am

Is this ReadyNAS Duo? All Desktop model have reset switch pin hole next to network jack.
Jedi Knight
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 1738
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:00 pm
Location: Lanai, HI
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Reset button........

Postby 6861elm » Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:25 am

Yes it is! Thanks! A paperclip in the pinhole will reset it back to the factory default?
6861elm
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:58 am
ReadyNAS: 2100

Re: Reset button........

Postby Jedi Knight » Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:50 pm

Yes. please see the FAQ on how to perform the factory default. note: factory default will wipe out (ERASE) all the data and will not be able to recover.
Jedi Knight
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 1738
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:00 pm
Location: Lanai, HI
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Reset button........

Postby mdgm » Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:06 pm

6861elm please also change your profile to state that you have the Duo. The Duo (e.g. RND2110) is very different from the rackmount 4-bay product called the 2100 (RNRX4000 series).
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 35434
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Reset button........

Postby qVAMPIREp » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:44 pm

My NV+ seems to have lost its mind. My admin password no longer works and the password recovery question is "question". I want to try a firmware reset but would like some advice on what to look for exactly since I don't want to lose 4TB of data :)

The FAQ says to depress the reset pin and release it after the drive lights flash once. The problem is they all flash briefly at power up. How do I know I've held them too long?
qVAMPIREp
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:12 am

Re: Reset button........

Postby Jedi Knight » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm

qVAMPIREp wrote:My NV+ seems to have lost its mind. My admin password no longer works and the password recovery question is "question". I want to try a firmware reset but would like some advice on what to look for exactly since I don't want to lose 4TB of data :)

The FAQ says to depress the reset pin and release it after the drive lights flash once. The problem is they all flash briefly at power up. How do I know I've held them too long?


You need to press it for at least 7 seconds from boot and you LCD will show "OS Reinstall". Once you see OS Reinstall, release the reset button. it will perform OS Reinstall and reset the password to "netgear1". If you have earlier firmware, it will be "infrant1" DO NOT Press the button for longer than 20seconds or more. it can put you the system into factory reset.
Jedi Knight
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 1738
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:00 pm
Location: Lanai, HI
ReadyNAS: Pro


Return to Boot



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests