Corrupt Root

Please post question and issues pertaining to ReadyNAS booting here.

Corrupt Root

Postby cashew » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:27 am

After a power failure this morning I have been unable to get my ReadyNas Duo to boot. Prior to this it had been working alright since I bought it several months ago. It's an RND2000 with 2x1.5TB Western Digital WD15EARS.

Looking at RAIDar it appears that the fixed ip address the device previously had is gone and the device is now using DHCP. I am unable to access the device on this ip address. The info column also shows "corrupt root".

The green LED's on the device are flashing in the following pattern: 3 x slow then 3 x fast.

I have logged a case online with tech support (Case No. 14767730) and I'm waiting to hear back.

I've searched through the forums but haven't found a case where anyone has gotten the problem resolved while also keeping their data.

Any help or info would be much appreciated.
cashew
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:05 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby mdgm » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:36 am

Wait and see what support suggests.

Unfortunately you aren't using disks on the HCL

I hope you have a good backup of important data primarily stored on the ReadyNAS. RAID (e.g. RAID-1, X-RAID, not RAID-0) provides redundancy and isn't a backup. See http://www.readynas.com/?p=3153
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 34164
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby cashew » Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:04 pm

Got an email from tech-support today. They suggested an OS re-install and I'm trying that now.

The unit's blue LED has been flashing continuously for the past hour. How long does an OS re-install normally take?

Just want to be sure that something worthwhile is actually happening.
cashew
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:05 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby TeknoJnky » Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:06 pm

os reinstall takes 5 minutes
nv+ ~ 1gb ram ~ 4x WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 ~ 5555 GB ~ power supply dead
ultra4 ~ 4 gb ram ~
pro business ~ 4gb ram ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DX000-1C5160 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 10tb
pro 6 ~ 4gb ram ~ dual redundancy ~ 4x Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 14tb
A/V streaming ---> Subsonic ---> HTC One ~ Note 2 ~ Nexus 7
User avatar
TeknoJnky
ReadyNAS Addict
 
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: MO
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby cashew » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:13 am

Tried the OS re-install 3 times without success. Device just sits there for hours with the blue power LED flashing. Updated tech-support and waiting to hear back.
cashew
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:05 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby cashew » Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:42 pm

RAIDar stopped detecting the device. Decided to try something. Removed both of the disks and started the Duo. RAIDar picked it up. Next I shut down the Duo, put in just disk 1 and tried a reboot. Got stuck with the flashing blue LED and again nothing showed up on RAIDar. Shut it down, took out disk 1 and put in disk 2 then tried to boot the Duo. This time it booted up fully, showed up in RAIDar and was fully accessible.

Looks like disk 1 was the problem.
cashew
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:05 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: Corrupt Root

Postby PapaBear » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:01 am

Back up your data now if you don't already have a current and complete backup. Then run the vendor tools on the drive to test the drive.
Remember - the NAS is not a backup plan.

Backup = Good, No Backup = Bad
User avatar
PapaBear
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 3571
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: South Georgia
ReadyNAS: NVX


Return to Boot



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests