SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Please post question and issues pertaining to installation and upgrade here.

SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby tenforty » Tue May 14, 2013 12:09 pm

Brand new shiny RN 102. Upgraded firmware to 6.0.5. Public, static ip address (ie not private space 192.168.X.X) . Both laptop and Netgear on the same local subnet. Https to Frontview from my laptop running FC 17 seems to work as expected. I enabled ssh in Frontview. Ssh on my laptop to localhost works. Ssh from laptop to a non-privileged user on Netgear requests a password. I enter it. The connection is immediately closed.

/etc/hosts.allow is ALL:XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:allow
iptables is -A INPUT -s XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX/32 -m tcp -p tcp -j ACCEPT

Thoughts please. And thanks in advance.

- Jeremy
tenforty
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 10:46 am
ReadyNAS: RN102

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby chirpa » Tue May 14, 2013 12:13 pm

You can only SSH in as user root. User admin or other users will not work, they don't have a shell set.

Once logged in as root, if you want to grant login to other users; viewtopic.php?p=336971#p336971
User avatar
chirpa
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 16162
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:52 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Repertoire

SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby super-poussin » Tue May 14, 2013 12:13 pm

Only root account is allowed with admin password
If you like my add-ons - Si vous aimez mes add-ons :
EN/US:Image --- -------- FR: Image or Paypal @mail: readynas@orange.fr
Where I'm teaching
4B Perros
User avatar
super-poussin
ReadyNAS Add-ons Expert
 
Posts: 5173
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: PG
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby tenforty » Tue May 14, 2013 12:57 pm

Thank you both. The enable root access addons that are available (sparc, x86, arm)
won't upload. I get a popup that says only debian is permitted. Where is the appropriate .bin located?

- Jeremy
tenforty
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 10:46 am
ReadyNAS: RN102

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby chirpa » Tue May 14, 2013 1:08 pm

Its a toggle option in the GUI under System>Settings>Services in R6.

Image
User avatar
chirpa
Jedi Council Alumni
 
Posts: 16162
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 11:52 am
Location: San Jose, CA
ReadyNAS: Repertoire

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby tenforty » Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm

Yes, that is turned on. Without that I wouldn't have expected to get a password challenge. It seems to me that there's a permission error. But I can't get to a command line to poke into it. Frustrating.

- Jeremy
tenforty
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 10:46 am
ReadyNAS: RN102

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby StephenB » Tue May 14, 2013 2:04 pm

So SSH is turned on. When you connect with SSH to the NAS you are entering "root" as the user name, and then the admin password. Is that correct?

What SSH tool are you using? Putty?
User avatar
StephenB
ReadyNAS Maniac
 
Posts: 10602
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:08 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: SSH on new RN 102 with OS 6.0.5

Postby tenforty » Fri May 17, 2013 7:42 am

Thank you for the help. The problem turned out to be sort of dim. I thought I had read that admin and root were treated as the same. ssh admin@XXX didn't work. ssh root@XXX works fine.
Also changing /bin/false to /bin/bash in /etc/passwd allows non-privileged ssh. And then su - if root is wanted. Maybe just me, but it seems better than accessing root directly.

Thanks again.

- Jeremy
tenforty
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 10:46 am
ReadyNAS: RN102

Re: SSH on new RN 516 with OS 6.1.9

Postby rybackisback » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:26 am

am trying to setup an SQL database on my readynas RN516 to service multiple XBMC machines. I have installed mySQL server and phpmyadmin. I have created a user xbmc with full privileges and port forwarded port 3306 in my router.

But xbmc is unable to create a database - I get the error "Can't connect to MySQL server on '192.168.1.22' (10061)". I tried to telnet into the server on port 3306 and it is not open.

I tried to ssh into the server to change the "bind address" but once I log into root via putty and type in the command /etc/mysql/my.cnf and press "enter" and nothing happens.

Is someone please able to help.......thanks
rybackisback
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:53 pm
ReadyNAS: NV+


Return to Installation and Upgrade



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests