frontview cannot login

Please post questions that doesn't fall into the above categories here.

frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:44 pm

Hi All

I am having an issue with frontview, i cannot login,

- SSH still works
- Share still work ( AFP,SMB,CFS)

in the logs for /var/log/frontview/error.log

i get this

[Wed Nov 09 20:40:31 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.9] PAM: user 'admin' - invalid account: Authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info.

please help

thanks
Adam
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby mdgm » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:48 pm

Do you have any addons installed?

Have you been installing things via SSH (e.g. using apt-get or dpkg)?

What version of RAIDiator is shown in /var/log/raidiator_version ?
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 34325
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:54 pm

Hi

I have some addons installed but nothing new, this only started last night,
i got an email yesterday afternoon saying that a sync was happening, and then i had a power cut do it had to restart, since then i cannot acces the front view
i do have ssh installed which i did a while ago via the dpkg ( that addon from the readynas webstie)

here is the output from /var/log/raidiator_version

RAIDiator!!version=4.01c1-p8,time=1314924646

i appriacted all the help
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby mdgm » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:17 pm

That means you're on 4.1.8 (latest firmware)

You say in another thread you removed PHP5. Had you tried to access Frontview after removing PHP5 but before the power cut?

How much data do you have on the device? It could be best to backup all your data, then do a factory reset and reload data from backup and manually re-configure, install add-ons etc. A factory reset on 4.1.7 or later (e.g. 4.1.8 your NAS is running) will give you 4k sector alignment which will be useful when you move to using 2TB disks.

If you don't want to do that you might want to open a tech support case (http://www.readynas.com/support) and see if they can help.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 34325
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:19 pm

It did not work after PHP5 was removed

could i try and do an OS flash, i saw on another thread that it worked
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby mdgm » Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:22 pm

OS/firmware re-install might work.

Some other suggestions you should probably try first are here: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=56019
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 34325
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby WhoCares? » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:03 am

abs52 wrote:It did not work after PHP5 was removed
could i try and do an OS flash, i saw on another thread that it worked


Before doing an OS reinstall, try the following in an SSH shell on your ReadyNAS:

Code: Select all
rm /etc/frontview/apache/addons/*php*
apache-ssl -f /etc/frontview/apache/httpd.conf -k restart


If the last line produces some error messages, please post them here again.

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
User avatar
WhoCares?
ReadyNAS Add-ons Expert
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:34 am
Location: At my desk ;)
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:57 pm

Hi

When i run the first command i get " rm: No match." and the second i get "apache-ssl: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.0.7 for ServerName"

in my /etc/frontview/apache/addons/ i have

BITTORRENT.conf READYNASPHOTOS.conf TRANSMISSION.conf nasmonweb.conf.old
NOLED.conf READYNASREMOTE.conf ftpwhoweb.conf transmissionweb.conf


and more ideas??

thanks
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby WhoCares? » Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:59 pm

Basically that means your FrontView should be up and running at https://192.168.0.7/admin ... what happens if you try to access that link?

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
User avatar
WhoCares?
ReadyNAS Add-ons Expert
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:34 am
Location: At my desk ;)
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:02 pm

I get the login promtp but then i enter admin and the username and my password ( which i reset thinking i might have got it wrong using the reset password page)
but then it just gives me an error

This webpage is not available
The webpage at https://192.168.0.7/admin might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
Error 9 (net::ERR_UNEXPECTED): Unknown error.
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:03 pm

also to add if i run following i get this


etc/init.d/frontview restart
Stopping frontview: apache-sslStarting frontview: apache-sslapache-ssl: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.0.7 for ServerName
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
LANGUAGE = (unset),
LC_ALL = (unset),
LANG = "en_GB.UTF-8"
are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C")
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby WhoCares? » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:15 pm

It's not really a good idea to run the /etc/init.d/frontview script from the console. In my opinion you should try to restart your ReadyNAS so that every service is started as it should and then try again to access FrontView. The web server config file is fine as it seems so there shouldn't be any problems. Just refrain from calling /etc/init.d/frontview manually. If you need to restart the web server use the command I mentioned some posts earlier.

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
User avatar
WhoCares?
ReadyNAS Add-ons Expert
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:34 am
Location: At my desk ;)
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:18 pm

just done a restart ( 2 actually) and still no joy

anything i should look at, any logs etc ?
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby WhoCares? » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:19 pm

Try /var/log/frontview/access.log and /var/log/frontview/error.log

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
User avatar
WhoCares?
ReadyNAS Add-ons Expert
 
Posts: 3003
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:34 am
Location: At my desk ;)
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: frontview cannot login

Postby abs52 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:22 pm

my access log has this


192.168.0.16 - admin [10/Nov/2011:22:01:57 +0000] "GET /admin HTTP/1.1" 401 401 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_7_2) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.106 Safari/535.2"
127.0.0.1 - - [10/Nov/2011:22:06:50 +0000] "GET /" 400 454 "-" "-"


and the error log


[Thu Nov 10 22:01:22 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.16] PAM: user 'admin' - invalid account: Authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info.
[Thu Nov 10 22:01:57 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.16] PAM: user 'admin' - invalid account: Authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info.
abs52
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 9:20 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Next

Return to General Questions (English)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests