I posted this for another user, but hopefully it will explain things:
If you want your remote users to use ReadyNAS Remote, a few things need to take place:
1. You need to create a user account on the NAS for them (Frontview > Security > User & Group accounts). This is where the actual security and access to the files on YOUR ReadyNAS is controlled. If they do not have/know a username & password they will not be able to access the files/shares on the NAS (either locally or remotely).
2. You need to install / enable ReadyNAS Remote on the NAS.
3. They need to create a ReadyNAS Remote account.
4. You need to add their ReadyNAS Remote account in Frontview (Frontview > Services > Installed Add-ons > Manage ReadyNAS Remote). If you don't add their ReadyNAS Remote account, they won't even be able to see your NAS when on the ReadyNAS Remote network.
5. They need to install the ReadyNAS Remote client and login. Your NAS will appear and they should be able to access everything just as though they were on your internal LAN.
All of the steps are outlined here:http://www.readynas.com/?cat=52
The account created in step #1 is different and unrelated to the account created in step #3. For example, suppose I want to give John Smith remote access to my NAS. I create an account in Frontview called 'jsmith' and assign access to whatever shares I want him to have access to.
Then I instruct him to create an account at the ReadyNAS Remote site by sending an e-mail invite & he creates one called 'JohnS123'. To grant him remote access I need to add the JohnS123
account in the ReadyNAS Remote manager section (Frontview > Services > Installed Add-ons > Manage ReadyNAS Remote
) and search for his account name ('JohnS123') or search for his email address).
At this point, John can install the ReadyNAS software and attempt to connect to my NAS. He will be prompted to login to the ReadyNAS Remote network (using the 'JohnS123' account). When he tries to connect to my NAS, he will be prompted to enter another username and password. In this case, it will be the username 'jsmith' that I created for him. Now, John can access the shares that I have authorized him to.
I hope this makes sense.