ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Please post any helpful and useful tips to maximize your fellow ReadyNAS users' experience.

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby chaps » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:18 pm

Hi,

I'm also with Jallamamba... and not sure how to see the disk in Linux?
If someone could explain a little simler (sorry!) that would be great!

Thanks...
chaps
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:02 am
Location: Australia
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby dekkit » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:03 am

Using acmtn.vmw.Debian5, plugin your usb disk and once you boot and get to the welcome screen:

1/ Login using the user: vmuser (pw:vmuser1) account
2/ Run the root terminal (the red icon)
3/ Enter the commands at the start of this thread (taking note of other comments raised by people in the forum)


Edit: It will then tell you that it has been mounted but it will seem like the script has stalled but this is normal, you just need to minimise this terminal window.

4/ OPEN a second root terminal
5/ enter the following terminal commands
"cd /mnt"
"cd lvm"
"ls"

Your folders and file should be listed (if all goes well) in this terminal, you can now copy them to another HDD (usb, share etc that you have connected to the VMWare). Be aware there is a 4GB file limit on each filesize (a limitation of the ext2fuse).
Last edited by dekkit on Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
dekkit
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:18 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby Jallamamba » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:31 am

Today I got a step further :)
I tried my second disk I have from my ReadyNAS, and with this connected, I managed to write those commands that is on first page of this thread.
Image
But still, I can't find ANY files... :?

So I have figured out that I don't have to install any programs, it was already there, thats good 8)

But when I have done these commands, I tried to go to 'Computer' and click on disk (Generic STORAGE DEVICE), but I get the message:
Unable to mount media. There is probably no media in the drive.

Anyone care to give a stupid man the next step to get to see his files?
Jallamamba
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:25 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby mdgm » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:37 am

I believe with the Duo, data recovery using the VMWare tool needs to be done on disk 1 from a X-RAID array.

If your disk 2 is fine, you should be able to boot with that without disk 1 in the NAS.
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31904
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby chaps » Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:01 am

I have just installed this R-Stuio software http://www.r-studio.com/ and after scannning it found all my files now I'm just in the process of recovering everything I can get!

I pulled disk 1 out of the DUO and plugged it into an external USB enclosure and all is going good so far...
chaps
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:02 am
Location: Australia
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby fbmachines » Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:50 pm

chaps wrote:I have just installed this R-Stuio software http://www.r-studio.com/ and after scannning it found all my files now I'm just in the process of recovering everything I can get!

I pulled disk 1 out of the DUO and plugged it into an external USB enclosure and all is going good so far...


I was wondering if an app like R-Studio would work. Keep us informed. It sounds promising!


What RAID type did you have on your Duo?
I wonder if this would work with X-RAID?
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby mdgm » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:52 pm

fbmachines wrote:What RAID type did you have on your Duo?
I wonder if this would work with X-RAID?

The Duo is a 2 disk NAS so using X-RAID or RAID-1, all the data would be on disk 1. I don't think on the Duo it'd matter whether X-RAID or RAID-1 is used.

Recovery a three disk or greater X-RAID array could be more complicated.
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31904
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby fbmachines » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:38 pm

mdgm wrote:The Duo is a 2 disk NAS so using X-RAID or RAID-1, all the data would be on disk 1. I don't think on the Duo it'd matter whether X-RAID or RAID-1 is used.


I wasn't sure if the proprietary X-RAID format could be understood by R-Studio.

mdgm wrote:Recovery a three disk or greater X-RAID array could be more complicated.


It does look a little complicated but it sounds like once you figure out the RAID parameters you can save the profile for future use.
Below is a 3 disk RAID 5 example...
http://www.unformat-unerase.com/Article ... ndex.shtml
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby mdgm » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:42 pm

fbmachines wrote:I wasn't sure if the proprietary X-RAID format could be understood by R-Studio.

So long as it can read EXT3 volumes using the 16k block size, it should be fine with using disk 1 from two disk X-RAID array.

fbmachines wrote:
mdgm wrote:Recovery a three disk or greater X-RAID array could be more complicated.


It does look a little complicated but it sounds like once you figure out the RAID parameters you can save the profile for future use.
Below is a 3 disk RAID 5 example...
http://www.unformat-unerase.com/Article ... ndex.shtml

I guess so. If someone has used parameters to successfully recover data of a 3 or 4 disk X-RAID array it would be good if he/she could post them.
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31904
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby fbmachines » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:52 pm

mdgm wrote:So long as it can read EXT3 volumes using the 16k block size, it should be fine with using disk 1 from two disk X-RAID array.


It looks like it can, so that's good news.

mdgm wrote:I guess so. If someone has used parameters to successfully recover data of a 3 or 4 disk X-RAID array it would be good if he/she could post them.


Agreed.
NAS 1 [File Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31000340AS 1 TB
NAS 2 [Media Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 3 [HDD Image Server]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 3x Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS-02A6B0 1 TB
NAS 4 [Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2 TB
NAS 5 [Off-Site Backup for NAS 1,2 & 3]: ReadyNAS NV+, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 4x Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
NAS 6 [BitTorrent Client]: ReadyNAS Duo, Raidiator 4.1.13, 1024 MB, X-RAID, 2x Western Digital RE2 WD5001ABYS 500 GB
NAS 7 [CrashPlan Client]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 4096 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 8 [On-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-6, Raidiator 4.2.25, 8192 MB, X-RAID2, 6x Samsung Spinpoint F4EG HD204UI 2 TB
NAS 9 [Off-site Backup]: ReadyNAS Pro-2, Raidiator 4.2.25, 1024 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Western Digital RE3 WD5002ABYS-01B1B0 500 GB
NAS 10 [Testing]: ReadyNAS RN102, ReadyNAS OS 6.1.5, 512 MB, X-RAID2, 2x Seagate Pipeline ST3500321CS 500 GB

Network: ProSafe UTM25 :: Netgear GS724Tv3 :: HP Procurve 1810-24G :: Asus RT-N66R :: D-Link DGS-2205
UPS: CyberPower CP1000AVRLCD :: CyberPower CP850AVRLCD :: 3x CyberPower CP825AVRG :: APC Back-UPS ES 550
User avatar
fbmachines
Advanced ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby farazfastian » Fri Mar 19, 2010 7:09 pm

From past two weeks i've been unsuccessfully trying different things, just found this thread today and have already tried following:

1) RStudio, i've tried this recovery tool but i can't find any of my files on readynas hdd, is there specific process for it?

2) I've also tried acmtn debian vmware and have reached to stage where it says "block size is 16384" but it doesn't show anything after that. Where can i see the my readynas files/folders? Also is there a same process to mount my another usb hdd where i want to copy my readynas data? Plz help me i've zero knowledge of Linux :(

Many thanks
farazfastian
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:01 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby dekkit » Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:16 am

farazfastian wrote:From past two weeks i've been unsuccessfully trying different things, just found this thread today and have already tried following:

1) RStudio, i've tried this recovery tool but i can't find any of my files on readynas hdd, is there specific process for it?

2) I've also tried acmtn debian vmware and have reached to stage where it says "block size is 16384" but it doesn't show anything after that. Where can i see the my readynas files/folders? Also is there a same process to mount my another usb hdd where i want to copy my readynas data? Plz help me i've zero knowledge of Linux :(

Many thanks



As mentioned in the earlier posts, you need to have 2 x root terminal windows open:

Terminal 1 - to mount the filestructure of the ReadyNAS drive
Terminal 2 - to navigate around the ReadyNAS filestructure and copy required files (you may need to google some basic linux commands - its similar command line in Windows)

Once you get access to your files, could you help assist the rest of the reads of this thread by taking time to document your exact steps (any screenshots would also be fantastic) - this would be great input into eventually developing a guide for new users who's lost access to their data.
dekkit
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:18 am
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby TeknoJnky » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:10 pm

Has anyone considered, or attempted to use the methods to mount nv+/duo drives on a pro, via virtual box ?

ie, take nv+ drives, put in usb cases, all drives into a usb hub, connect to pro, get an applicable VM up in virtual box on the pro, mount the x-raid array ?

I think it would be pretty awesome to see done.

even better would be getting the all the required packages running directly on the pro and mounting (via usb) the x-raid drives directly without a VM.
nv+ ~ 1gb ram ~ 4x WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 ~ 5555 GB ~ power supply dead
ultra4 ~ 4 gb ram ~
pro business ~ 4gb ram ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DX000-1C5160 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 10tb
pro 6 ~ 4gb ram ~ dual redundancy ~ 4x Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 14tb
A/V streaming ---> Subsonic ---> HTC One ~ Note 2 ~ Nexus 7
User avatar
TeknoJnky
ReadyNAS Addict
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: MO
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby mdgm » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:16 pm

It would be awesome and I have thought a bit about this before, but haven't actively tried to do it. It should work as you should be able to get the VM to see the USB drives. It sounds like a good idea. I guess the challenge would be in trying to transfer the data from the disks onto the Pro without needing to send the data over the network. You would need all disks to be working fine from the X-RAID array except for the parity disk (doesn't matter if this is working fine or not).
Useful links: My ReadyNAS Gear|FAQ|Hardware Compatibility List|Docs: Setup Guide, Manual|Downloads|Unofficial Tips|GPL|MDGM on Twitter|MDGM's Unofficial Guides
NB: A ReadyNas is not an excuse not to have a backup. Fire, theft, multiple disk failures, other hardware failure, floods, user negligence etc. can all result in loss of data.
How we users can contact NETGEAR Technical Support | Australia: 1300 361 254 / Other Numbers|Online Submission
Unofficial Guide for Moving from Sparc ReadyNAS to x86 ReadyNAS|Using Gmail with the ReadyNAS|XRAID Volume Size Calculator
If you have found my website or help very useful, please consider a donation in USD or AUD
User avatar
mdgm
ReadyNAS Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31904
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Data Recovery - VMware recovery tool

Postby EdinhoJr » Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:01 pm

Hi Guys,
I need some help. I have a D-Link DNS-323 and I bought a ReadyNas DUO to replace it. I had too many troubles with D-Link and because of that I decide to switch them.
So I removed one disk from 323 and insert it into the readynas. I choose FlexRaid 0 with 500GB and left another 500GB to build a RAID 1 volume with both disks. After I copied the files from 323 to neadynas, I move the last disk to readynas.
Then my problems started. The first volume fail (not the disk), I tried to reboot, then readynas remove the partition information from the second disk and finally the readynas died. (So much luck)
So, I tried to move back the second disk into 323 but without success. I want to recover the information but until now I didn't got it. I'd tried the VMware recovery image and the R-Studio.

For VMware image, when I do the command vgscan, it find only the VG used on the VM.

For R-Studio, It finds many partition, but the files are cut and some of them didn't open. I tried to group all partition with 16k block into a virtual volume, but nothing different happens.

Please, I really need some help.


BR
Edson OLIVEIRA
Brazil
EdinhoJr
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:07 pm

PreviousNext

Return to User Submitted Tips



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest