WD WD1002FAEX

Please format your subject as follows:

WD10EACS WD Caviar GP - 1.0TB

WD WD1002FAEX

Postby roy9183 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:04 am

Please advise if the below WD1002FAEX model from WD is compatible with the NAS Storages????

Roy
roy9183
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:55 am

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby kerrigaj » Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:36 pm

Hi,

I (foolishly) bought two of these drives for a Duo two weeks ago without checking the compatibility list to upgrade from 2x500GB WD drives. Exact drive = WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0.

Have tried hot swapping each drive in turn according to the instructions and neither work so far. Errors are the same for both:

'The disk attached to channel 1 could not be used. The most common reasons are RAID resync in progress, faulty drives, and disks that are too small to be added to the array.'
'A SATA reset has been performed on one or more of your disks that may have affected the RAID parity integrity. It is recommended that you perform a RAID volume resync from the RAID Settings tab ( accessible in the Volumes page => Volume tab in FrontView ). The resync process will run in the background, and you can continue to use the ReadyNAS in the meantime.'
Blinking light error has been constant for each drive.

There has been no sync progress (only 114GB stored on the 500GB drive on the Duo and left the first disk in situ for 48 hours).

Is there anyone who knows what I can do to attempt to use these disks? Would a jumper make any difference? Any disk firmware upgrade that could make any difference?

Thanks in advance.

John
kerrigaj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:18 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby roy9183 » Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:45 pm

Thanks For The Feedback.....

Roy
roy9183
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:55 am

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby rotordave » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:42 pm

Have you tried enabling TLER on the drives first?
rotordave
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:12 am
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby cj_duke » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:55 am

Hi,

I'm thinking about using the WD WD1002FAEX with the NVX Pro Pioneer. Do these problems still exist, or are they solved with the new firmware? Could any help me please?

Regards
cj_duke
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:51 am

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby macronencer » Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:55 pm

I'm interested in knowing the progress of this model too. Being new to ReadyNAS, I bought disks at the same time as my ReadyNAS unit (ultra 6 plus). I bought 4 of these 1002FEAX 1TB drives, and now I find they are not usable. This really surprised me, since I've used these as internal drives before and just thought they were standard types of good quality SATA drives. With my Mac Pro I just plugged them in and they worked. Why is that not possible with RAID? Is there some low-level stuff going on that makes for more issues with particular drives? It would be nice to see a full explanation given on the FAQ - I couldn't see one there.

I can guess why there is a compatibility list (to protect users against data loss from untested models), but it would have been nice to have seen a large warning sign of some kind saying "Do NOT buy drives until you've bought the NAS!!". I only knew of the HCL's existence once I started reading the manual - and that was only once I had the product unpacked. This is a bit "cart before horse", and I think Netgear ought to consider making this issue more prominent on their web site, on the pages where potential customers are browsing. I'm pretty savvy about IT in general but new to RAID and NAS - and I missed it.

Now I'm not sure whether to return the three drives I haven't opened for a refund or whether to wait a while in the hope that this model might be included soon... any advice on that, anyone?
macronencer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:37 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby PapaBear » Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:11 pm

I would return the drives as soon as you can. There is no guarantee that the drives will pass the test when they are tested. One of the problems with drives in a Raid configuration is that they have to be synchronized for them to work efficiently. Some drives have features in their electronics that want to operate the drives spin down and features, especially the green drives. This in effect fights the Raid controller.

While the drives in question are fairly new 6Gb/s drives and are not green drives (7200 RPM) they may pass when tested. They are a little on the higher end of the cost curve than other 1TB drives, even the WD drives. It also does not help that WD strongly discourages the use of consumer grade drives in a Raid environment, only supporting the more expensive enterprise drives, which have greater vibration stability.
Remember - the NAS is not a backup plan.

Backup = Good, No Backup = Bad
User avatar
PapaBear
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 3571
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: South Georgia
ReadyNAS: NVX

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby macronencer » Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:55 am

That's very helpful PapaBear - thanks for the explanation, it makes sense. I have returned the 3 unopened drives and I'll order some from the list now.
macronencer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:37 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby macronencer » Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:37 am

Hmm.. still have problems, even with a compatible drive (WD RE4 WD1003FBYX). It takes a couple of minutes showing the logo, then boots and says "No disks detected". ?? So I can't even get to square one here :( I'll try another slot...
macronencer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:37 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby skrutten84 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:44 pm

Last year I bougth two SAMSUNG HD103SJ but for 2 weeks ago I suddently get an harddisk crash and one of them where dead. I send the disk for service and due to the shortage of harddrives they gave me an Western Digital Black 1002FAEX. Nice drive but I was really dubtfull because the lack of compatibillity with disks. I told the service guy that and get the right to return it if I not broke the ESD bag. When I check the offical HCL for ReadyNAS Duo I can read that the 2TB version are supported. Will this mean that the 1TB version also is supported? Should you return the disk based on this thread? Did anyone have problems with two different brands Samsung and Western?
skrutten84
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:22 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby PapaBear » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:44 pm

No. If the 1TB version is not on the list but the 2TB is, the 1TB is still unsupported.
Remember - the NAS is not a backup plan.

Backup = Good, No Backup = Bad
User avatar
PapaBear
ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 3571
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:33 pm
Location: South Georgia
ReadyNAS: NVX

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby skrutten84 » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:33 am

PapaBear wrote:No. If the 1TB version is not on the list but the 2TB is, the 1TB is still unsupported.

Thank you for your help. I will go back and see what they can offer instead.
skrutten84
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:22 pm
ReadyNAS: Duo

Re: WD WD1002FAEX

Postby biche2 » Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:43 am

Hello,

I finaly succed in managing my WD1002FAEX-00Z03A0

Raidar: 4.1.9

The disk coundn't be reckognize alone, i had only message "disk missing" "bad disk" or "corruped root"

I fond a solution that work:

1) Shut down the nas duo
2) cut the power on the back
3) Put a disk that nas duo can handle normaly and put it in slot 2
4) Put the WD black 1TO in slot 01
5) Make factory reset (put a needle in the back , put the power and extract the needle only after seeing the "2 flash" in front)
6) Lanch raidar (soft) afer some second the 2 disk are reconized, and you can access to the manage option, click it
7) Chose between X raid au flex (i choose) flex (raid 0)
8) Extrat the second disk
9) THEN lanch "initialisation"

10) When finish you could use a second WD1002FAEX-00Z03A0 (don't know only have one)

Seems to work properly, but not enough time used for the moment

Any way, has the manipulation is a bit triky, I will use known working well, after 1 week of test with the WD1002FAEX-00Z03A0.

:)

Image
biche2
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:32 am
ReadyNAS: Duo


Return to Western Digital



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest