UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

Postby asgeirw » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:47 pm

I have just aquired a UPS, it seems to work fine with my ReadyNAS NV+ ... :D
UPS 1 APC Back-UPS ES 550G, Battery charge: 100%, 41 minutes OK

Now for my question:
I want to use the same UPS for my PC, how do I connect the PC so that it shuts down automatically when the battery is "empty"?
(PC running W7-64 in workgroup with R-NAS)

In Frontview under : System - Power - UPS Configuration
i can select to : Enable network monitoring of attached UPS
What does tis mean?

I can also write in something after: Hosts allowed access:

Is this used for shareing the UPS with more devices???

Any help would be appreciated ... :)
asgeirw
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:31 am
Location: Norway
ReadyNAS: NV+

Re: UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

Postby mdgm » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:38 pm

User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33417
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

Postby chetzer » Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:32 am

This looks promising but I'd like to delve a little deeper. My intended setup is to have 2 ReadyNAS units and one Linux server on a single subnet with an APC or Tripp-Lite UPS. Can one of the ReadyNAS units be set up to receive its UPS signals from the other, or from the server if that is easier?
chetzer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:22 am

Re: UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

Postby mdgm » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:37 pm

If you get one NAS to share the UPS, when you go to the other NAS and browse to System > Power > UPS in Frontview you should be able to use the "Enable monitoring of UPS physically attached to a remote ReadyNAS" option. You would check this option, enter the I.P. address of the NAS the UPS is connected to via USB and click apply.

Note of course the power supplies of both NAS units, your PC and your router/switch need to be connected to a UPS for this to work.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33417
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: UPS PC and ReadyNAS configuration

Postby chetzer » Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:47 am

Fantastic, that's just what I needed to know. I'll do that and report back on success or problems.
chetzer
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:22 am


Return to UPS



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests