ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

(Replaces the existing UPnP-AV server support) Enables playback of videos, music and pictures from DLNA/UPnP AV network media players. Also adds TiVo HMO support.

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby jackohound » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:36 am

I am getting some traction with Tech Support team; they have agreed to forward the KUID issue to the engineering department. Once the engineers get back from holiday break, I think the only solution would be if engineering can offer an updated executable (readytivod) with support for Premiere/Elite.

Skywalker, you are our only hope.
jackohound
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:59 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby ReadyMark » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:41 am

That is good news. At least someone seems to recognize this as a more global problem not individual user issue.

Thanks for pushing this along.
ReadyMark
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 2:27 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Bitzerj » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:59 am

Hopefully this will get resolved quickly. It should be real easy to duplicate the issue....

Maybe if we stick together and keep working with Tech Support we can get this resolved.
Bitzerj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 6:23 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:59 pm

jackohound, has engineering given this any attention?
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby jackohound » Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:54 pm

Engineering is showing some attention. I was contacted on 05-Jan and asked to provide some more logs and setup my ReadyNas so Netgear can remotely access it. I've provided everything they asked for and am awaiting further direction

As others have stated here, I'm disappointed in the Tech Support response so far. Since we are seeing consistent results, it should be easy for QA or Engineering departments to reproduce the issue locally. So far, they have not confirmed whether they can (or cannot) reproduce the reported issue, or if they have in fact tested with a Tivo Premiere or Elite. Simply acknowledging the current bug with Tivo Premeire/Elite would be a good first step.

In parallel, i am exploring an alternative open source solution (Galleon http://galleon.sourceforge.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=94&Itemid=53). I have the app installed and running on ReadyNAS. Not all features are working yet, but it might just be configuration issues. There are pros and cons to both Galleon and ReadyTivo. Anyone interested in helping to get Galleon ported/installed on their ReadyNAS? You need to enable ssh on your ReadyNAS and be comfortable with basic linux commands, and be willing to experiment with different settings so we arrive at a working stable solution for ReadyNAS. If so, i'll start another thread to discuss Galleon details.
jackohound
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:59 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby ReadyMark » Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:46 am

I am about in the same boat as Jackohound with exception of Galleon option. Provided logs, working on getting them remote access to my ReadyNas Ulta 6. I am not as technically adept as you, so the remote access was a bit of a challenge and now I am traveling and will try again when I return.
ReadyMark
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 2:27 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Bitzerj » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:11 pm

I'm also on the same boat (maybe we should meet for drinks!). I travel a lot and the remote access thing was a bit too complicated and time consuming. I'm not really thrilled about giving someone else access to my system when I cannot watch....

I honestly don't understand why they cannot duplicate the problem in the lab...I have asked them directly "have you gotten this to work in the lab" and don't get a response.

Support has really taken a dive in the past year or so. I'm just about done with their products.
Bitzerj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 6:23 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby scoombs » Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:44 pm

Just to chime in...I am having the same issue. No archive from Elite, THD works fine.
scoombs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:30 am
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby sasanchez » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:21 pm

Also having ReadyNas Ultra 6 not archiving TiVo Premiere XL problem.

When I first set it up, I did get several shows recorded on the ReadyNas from 10/21/11 through 12/13/11, but nothing since. Nothing has changed on my network; the ReadyNas device still shows up in the TiVo menu and I can transfer the previously recorded shows back to the TiVo, but the ReadyNas device is no longer backing up shows that are marked as "Save until I delete".

Apparently this is a problem many are having. Does anyone have any help on how to resolve this? It did work for almost two months. Is it possible TiVo updated their software and broke something in the ReadyNas process?

P.S. I also have a second, older TiVo unit on my network. A Pioneer DVR810H. I also have some shows from that unit that were recorded to the ReadyNas Ultra 6 during the date range listed above, but nothing since. I can transfer shows that are on the Pioneer TiVo to the Premiere XL TiVo, so the network seems to be fine. I suspect the ReadyNas software is somehow not firing.
sasanchez
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:01 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:30 pm

Yep, it seems very likely that Tivo changed how they indicate KUID, and that something on the ReadyNAS side has to change because of that. Can't help thinking that 15 minutes of quality time from an engineer would identify the problem, 15 minutes of engineering team discussion could identify a good solution, 15 minutes on the forum could acknowledge the problem and announce the expected solution, then we'd just wait for it to fit into an update release cycle. Or I could have it all wrong. Either way, all I can do is wait. In my experience, the wheels of ReadyNAS support turn very slowly.
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby sasanchez » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:54 pm

I've had about a dozen storage solutions. I recently bought a competitor's unit desiring to consolidate into one unit. I wound up returning that unit because the support was non-existent. I bought the ReadyNAS Ultra unit because I had an older ReadyNAS Duo that is still going strong. it seems to me that Netgear could OWN this area since they have good products. Hate to see them get mired down because of some software bug or support administration problems. In my experience their hardware is rock solid and their features put them ahead of many others. I really hope they will put people on this as they seem to have a strong commitment to the ReadyNAS line.

In fairness, it's tough to work across people's networks and within another company's product (TiVo). Still, the TiVo support issue is one of those features that makes one choose ReadyNAS over other competitors. That's why I bought mine. Now it's not working for one of the reasons I purchased the device. Hope Netgear will figure out the problem soon!
sasanchez
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:01 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:59 pm

I predict it will be resolved in about a month.

I've had my ReadyNAS Ultra 2 Plus for about 4 months and, aside from the month it took to resolve a post-update issue of not being able to see the media files via CIFS, I have liked it a lot. The first-line support techs are attentive, courteous, and eager to help, but when the issue was not apparent to them the process of moving it toward a resolution seemed dysfunctional to me (that is, they have support administration problems). But eventually the issue gets into the right hands and it gets resolved.
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby ReadyMark » Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:36 am

Well I continue to struggle on this. Can't get port mapping changed to give Netgear access to see the "insides" but since so many have the problem, like others have stated I am not sure why they need access but I am willing to try - I just need some more technical guidance that does not seem to come easily from Netgear but I can understand they can't know all the various setups. All mac support forums and manuals do not seem to match the current iteration of Airport Utility and I have an Airport Extreme.

Also, note to Jackohound - I am game to work with you or follow your trials with Galleon - start another thread or add to this one to see if that can help us.

I will keep posting my progress until this is resolved - very frustrating......
ReadyMark
ReadyNAS User
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 2:27 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby sasanchez » Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:22 am

The TiVo support feature will only appeal to a subset of ReadyNAS users which means it may only get limited attention. Suggest anyone who bought your unit wanting this feature contact Netgear support periodically requesting their attention getting this advertized-but-not-working feature fixed. Squeeky wheel and all that.
sasanchez
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:01 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby jonbig » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:53 pm

Here's an idea for self diagnosis of the issue:

Browse to this link on the TiVoHD that works ant the Tivo Premiere that doesn't:

https://<your tivo ip>:443/TiVoConnect?Command=QueryContainer&Container=%2FNowPlaying

(user tivo, password is your Tivo Media Key)

save the xml you get back and examine the two for differences that might cause this problem.

That might speed the ReadyNAS engineers to a solution.
jonbig
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 2:04 pm

PreviousNext

Return to ReadyDLNA



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest