ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

(Replaces the existing UPnP-AV server support) Enables playback of videos, music and pictures from DLNA/UPnP AV network media players. Also adds TiVo HMO support.

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby laszlog » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:36 pm

Hi all,

I'm fortunate enough to have aa TIVO HD (series 3),a Tivo Premiere, and a Tivo Elite.

I just bought a Ultra 6 Plus, and I see the following:

If i put in a Media Key for the three devices. The Tivo HD is the only one that tries to back up/archive

The others fail with the errors youi all are getting
laszlog
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 4:12 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:33 pm

What version of software is your Tivo Premiere running? Mine is on v14.9.2.2-01-2-748.

On the tivocommunity forum I read that a later version is being pushed, and many already have it.
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sh ... p?t=481338

In my dream, this tivo update restores the old way of indicating KUID, and after I receive it from Tivo my ReadyNAS starts archiving KUIDs again.

Is there anybody here who has a Tivo Premiere running the new version 20.2.x who might tell me definitively whether or not to stop this dreaming?

Thanks!
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Impulse0022 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:44 am

I have the 20.2 version on my TiVo Premiere XL and unfortunately I am still getting the errors mentioned in this thread. My guess is that TiVo changed something and Netgear needs to update something on their end to resolve this issue.
Impulse0022
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:40 am

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:28 pm

Drat!

Thanks, Impulse0022.
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby scoombs » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:40 pm

Same. 20.2 on Elite and same behavior as before.
scoombs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:30 am
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Impulse0022 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:56 am

I only have a TiVo running 20.2-01-2-748 but below are the results from accessing https://<your tivo ip>:443/TiVoConnect?Command=QueryContainer&Container=%2FNowPlaying as someone suggested earlier. Hopes this help someone figure out what the underlying issue is.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<TiVoContainer xmlns="http://www.tivo.com/developer/calypso-protocol-1.6/">
<Details>
<ContentType>x-tivo-container/tivo-videos</ContentType>
<SourceFormat>x-tivo-container/tivo-dvr</SourceFormat>
<Title>Now Playing</Title>
<LastChangeDate>0x4F1569CC</LastChangeDate>
<TotalItems>39</TotalItems>
<UniqueId>/NowPlaying</UniqueId>
</Details>
<SortOrder>Type,CaptureDate</SortOrder>
<GlobalSort>Yes</GlobalSort>
<ItemStart>0</ItemStart>
<ItemCount>16</ItemCount>
<Item>
<Details>
<ContentType>x-tivo-container/folder</ContentType>
<SourceFormat>x-tivo-container/tivo-dvr</SourceFormat>
<Title>Pawn Stars</Title>
<LastChangeDate>0x4F1569CC</LastChangeDate>
<TotalItems>12</TotalItems>
<LastCaptureDate>0x4F1523B2</LastCaptureDate>
<UniqueId>96873</UniqueId>
</Details>
<Links>
<Content>
<Url>https://192.168.1.3:443/TiVoConnect?Command=QueryContainer&Container=%2FNowPlaying%2F96873</Url>
<ContentType>x-tivo-container/folder</ContentType>
</Content>
<CustomIcon>
<Url>urn:tivo:image:folder</Url>
<ContentType>image/*</ContentType>
<AcceptsParams>No</AcceptsParams>
</CustomIcon>
</Links>
</Item>
<Item>
.........
</TiVoContainer>
Impulse0022
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 8:40 am

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby denarius » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:09 pm

sasanchez wrote:The TiVo support feature will only appeal to a subset of ReadyNAS users which means it may only get limited attention. Suggest anyone who bought your unit wanting this feature contact Netgear support periodically requesting their attention getting this advertized-but-not-working feature fixed. Squeeky wheel and all that.


Following this sensible suggestion, I tested whether my post-90-day configuration support still included posting issues via the Netgear support site, and opened a ticket about this issue.

Now that I've received a response from a 2nd Level Tech Support person with requests for action on my part, I am trying to decide whether or not to bother continuing the process. The response shows zero awareness of the fact that this issue is shared by multiple users and had a distinct starting point which logically indicates a change in the way Tivo indicates KUID. I am asked to start the process with an OS reinstall, then to open my system for remote access by Netgear support.

I have the feeling that they already have enough test cases to study in order to deliver a fix. In fact, I suspect a single in-house Tivo Premiere would give them all the info they need.

I am reluctant to do an OS reinstall that I think is useless and could lead to new issues. Maybe I will just wait for the fix to come down the line.
denarius
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby scoombs » Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:12 pm

Just put it into remote support mode (which is easy), then tell the engineer the OS is new install (it is, you did it within the past 90 days). If he finds something while poking around, we all benefit.
scoombs
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:30 am
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby DNA » Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:40 pm

Please, please, continue. I raised a ticket at the end of 2009 that ultimately resolved in the TiVo functionality getting fixed in early 2010. However, I was out of support period and ended up paying $100.

Thanks in advance.
David
DNA
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 3:38 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby jackohound » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:05 pm

I have had an open ticket since 30-Dec-2011. I refused to do an OS reinstall since my system is already current; I got no pushback on that. I have setup my NAS for remote access. I provided full details on my NAS setup, Tivo versions, etc. I have had about 10 back and forth communications with several level 2 tech support folks, but it has always been them asking for actions or information from me. The Netgear tech support team is polite and responsive, but, there has been zero information provided by tech support. Despite repeated requests, they still cannot tell me if this Tivo Premiere/Elite problem is or is not a known issue. They cannot tell me if they have or have not done any testing with Tivo Premiere/Elite.

I'll continue to ping them every week or so and keep the ticket open, but this is no longer important to me. Because of Netgear's slow response, I have moved on to Galleon which offers all the same key Tivo features, is open source, runs on the ReadyNAS, and actually seems a better solution. It is not as user-friendly to get setup, though. I'm looking for someone with basic technical skills (comfortable with basic linux command shell, run apt-get to install some extras, using vi to edit a few text files, etc.) to give Galleon install a try. Because Galleon uses Java, this invitation is limited to x86 (Ultra) ReadyNAS boxes.
jackohound
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:59 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby jackohound » Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:13 pm

I got another polite email from my level 2 tech support contact yesterday, but they still have no information to offer on this issue. I have no idea when Netgear will acknowledge the problem or provide a fix.

I've created a separate thread (with instructions) for those interested in trying Galleon on the ReadyNAS.
http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=60616&p=339924#p339924
jackohound
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:59 pm
ReadyNAS: Ultra

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby alexofindy » Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:51 pm

Just to add my name to the list of users with this problem. I have the same issue. I have a Readynas Ultra6 Plus and a Tivo Premiere XL. Just as the folks who have already contributed to this thread have found, my Tivo stopped archiving about a month and a half ago, with the same symptoms.

Netgear: please fix or at least post a comment so we know you're out there working on the issue.

Thanks!
alexofindy
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:10 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Skywalker » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:26 am

We'll have this fixed in the next release. I can try to get an addon put together to address the issue within the next couple days.
User avatar
Skywalker
Jedi Council
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Fremont, CA
ReadyNAS: NV

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby Bitzerj » Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:33 am

That would be great! Thanks.
Bitzerj
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 6:23 pm

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 Tivo Not Archiving -- KUID problem?

Postby DNA » Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:06 am

If you need a beta-tester I'm happy to help.
DNA
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 3:38 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

PreviousNext

Return to ReadyDLNA



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 2 guests