My Book via Ethernet

Please post questions or problems regarding the built-in backup manager in FrontView here.

My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:57 am

Hi,

Looking for a new backup solution, I found large Ethernet based HDs at a reasonable price and performance. So, if I get one of these, can I connect it via the 2nd Ethernet connection in my Pro, and backup to it? And, would the performance be better than via USB?

Thanks for any feedback!

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby mdgm » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:12 am

Depends on what you get and its performance. Would not recommend connecting direct to second ethernet port. Connecting via a switch would be better (so that you could manage the other networked device easily).

Personally if you are going to backup NAS to NAS I would go with another ReadyNAS. Some of the cheaper options are quite lacking in features. Using NFS and Rsync for NAS to NAS backups is what I'd recommend. The ReadyNAS is a Linux box so working with native Linux protocols would be best. Also for retaining ownership permissions you could export the users and groups and import them into the backup ReadyNAS. If you get a 3rd party solution it would most likely be more difficult if even possible to maintain ownership and permissions.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33009
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:56 am

Hi,

I can appreciate that may be a better solution, but it is much more expensive, and we are only talking backup here. I have a fully equipped Pro, and only need a backup solution, and the WD My Book World Edition is portable, has build-in network, and is cheap.

Why would you not recommend connecting via the second Ethernet on the Pro? Is it not for this it has two ports? Going through a switch, would that not be slower? If not, then OK, but I just reckoned it would be faster via its own port. I don't know if the WD can use NFS and/or Rsync, but will find out.

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby mdgm » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:17 am

Going through a gigabit switch shouldn't be slower. You could use a dedicated switch connecting the second port on the Pro and the WD or if you have a smart switch setup a VLAN using the switch, if you really want to keep it separate from your main network.

Why I suggest a switch is that for managing the WD device if you do the direct-connect you'd need to disconnect it from the Pro then connect it to the computer whereas with a switch in-between you could connect your Mac to the switch and manage both devices.

From a quick google search it looks like you may be able to hack the MyBook to do NFS or Rsync. I don't think this is a feature of those devices (could be wrong). You can still use CIFS for backups. Not as good a solution but should still work.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33009
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:51 am

Hi mdgm,

Thanks for the answer. The reason for wanting to use the other port was solely for speed, and not for separating it from the rest of my network - I understand the point of being able to access it while it is connected though.

Also thanks for checking up on the MyBook, I couldn't find anywhere they said it could, so I was getting to the same conclusion. I'll probably keep looking for a networked external disc setup then. The portability is important as is the size (I usually hide it away somewhere between backups.)

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:44 pm

Hi,

I ended up buying a ReadyNAS Ultra 2 for backing up my Pro Pioneer. Then I also have a solution which can act as a proper NAS if needed.

A few questions;

I also ordered 2 Hitachi 7K3000 3TB discs, and I wonder if/how I implement these as one single spanning volume with 6TB of space? I am used to XRAID2, but guess that's not what I am looking for...

And, once I have it all up and running, can I create the same shares and user accounts as I have on my Pro Pioneer, and basically switch to it, in case my Pro Pioneer goes bump (which is for instance the case right now)? And, in that setup, use Rsync jobs for backing up the Pro?

Thanks in advance,

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby StephenB » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:53 pm

KillerBob wrote:Hi,

I ended up buying a ReadyNAS Ultra 2 for backing up my Pro Pioneer. Then I also have a solution which can act as a proper NAS if needed.

A few questions;

I also ordered 2 Hitachi 7K3000 3TB discs, and I wonder if/how I implement these as one single spanning volume with 6TB of space? I am used to XRAID2, but guess that's not what I am looking for...

And, once I have it all up and running, can I create the same shares and user accounts as I have on my Pro Pioneer, and basically switch to it, in case my Pro Pioneer goes bump (which is for instance the case right now)? And, in that setup, use Rsync jobs for backing up the Pro?

Thanks in advance,

Bo
Sounds like you want a two-disk RAID 0 volume. This is not difficult to set up, but has a major disadvantage - if either disk fails you lose all the data. So a good backup is important.

You can certainly re-create the shares and accounts you currently have on the Pioneer, and FrontView backup includes rsync.
User avatar
StephenB
Incurable ReadyNAS Junkie
 
Posts: 9900
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:08 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby mdgm » Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:05 pm

KillerBob wrote:I ended up buying a ReadyNAS Ultra 2 for backing up my Pro Pioneer. Then I also have a solution which can act as a proper NAS if needed.

Good choice.
KillerBob wrote:one single spanning volume with 6TB of space?

Use Flex-RAID.
1. Put one disk in the NAS
2. Update to latest firmware via System > Update > Remote (may need to do this twice)
3. Verify update is good.
4. Power down and put other disk in
5. Do a factory default via the boot menu: http://www.readynas.com/kb/faq/boot/how_do_i_use_the_boot_menu
6. Choose Flex-RAID and choose not to setup a volume
7. When you can go into Frontview. I recommend creating two RAID-0 volumes (one per disk). That way if a disk fails on the volume on that disk is lost. You have to wait for one volume to finish being created before you can create the next.
Do a factory default I am used to XRAID2, but guess that's not what I am looking for...
KillerBob wrote:And, once I have it all up and running, can I create the same shares and user accounts as I have on my Pro Pioneer, and basically switch to it, in case my Pro Pioneer goes bump (which is for instance the case right now)?

Yes. I'd recommend you try a System > Config Backup > Backup and backup Share Access and Users & groups, then restore that on the new NAS. You want the shares, users and groups to have the same UIDs and GIDs as on the source NAS if possible. Creating the users, groups and shares in the same order as you did on the Pro Pioneer should also work if you prefer. An advantage of doing it manually is that if you create two RAID-0 volumes could choose which volume to put a share on.
KillerBob wrote:And, in that setup, use Rsync jobs for backing up the Pro?

Yes. I'd use NFS for the first backup job but then use Rsync for the incrementals. NFS is great for full backups, Rsync is great for incremental backups. You can use Rsync for the full backup but you would probably find it a bit slow.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33009
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:08 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback, it's greatly appreciated! Now all I am missing are the parts for my new ReadyNAS, and my Pro Pioneer up-and-running again...

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:43 am

Hi,

Got most of the parts (all except disk no. 2), and followed steps 1-3. I also tried it all out, setting up just a single share. I already set it up as Flex-RAID 0.

Can I go ahead and start using it all, and then simply add disk no. 2 when it gets here (the 3TB 7K3000 is on back-order in Denmark), and it will be added to the single volume I plan to run with? If so, I can start restoring from an external backup while I am waiting for Netgear to fix my Pro Pioneer...

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby mdgm » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:48 am

KillerBob wrote:Can I go ahead and start using it all, and then simply add disk no. 2 when it gets here (the 3TB 7K3000 is on back-order in Denmark), and it will be added to the single volume I plan to run with?

If you add the disk you can create a second volume D. RAID-0 volumes are not expandable.

Edit: second volume would be D, first volume C.
Last edited by mdgm on Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33009
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:45 am

Hi mdgm,

Thanks for the confirmation. But how do I then use the second disk when I finally get it? Can I dedicate where shares are created? I have only ever used XRaid, and Flex is new to me. The reason I am eager to start using my Ultra 1 is that it'll be days before I get disk #2, and I have a lot of backing up to do...

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby mdgm » Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:51 am

Yes you can choose which volume to create shares on.

However bear in mind that if you wish to use the Time Machine feature enable via Frontview on this NAS it will use volume C.
User avatar
mdgm
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Technical Expert
 
Posts: 33009
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm
Location: Down Under
ReadyNAS: RN516

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:01 am

hmmmm

I have the Ultra 2 setup as "Volume C: Online, RAID Level 0 , Single disk, 35% of 2768 GB used", and I decided to try it all out, so I took at old 500GB disk and shoved it in....and nothing happened. I see it in the Health overview, but under Volume settings, I only see "Configuration: RAID Level 0, Single disk", and "Status: Not redundant. A disk failure will render this volume dead.", and there is no listing for a second volume???

Is there something special I have to do? I thought it would be recognized automatically, and I would get a prompt.

Bo
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: My Book via Ethernet

Postby KillerBob » Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:03 am

Don't worry! Got it. Total brain fart!!! Didn't even see the tabs at the top:)
Mac Pro (2.8GHz 8C, 16GB RAM, 960GB Accelsior, 500GB SSD, 2x750GB RAID0) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.66GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Pro (15", 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - MacBook Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD) - Mac Mini (2.3GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB) - Pro Pioneer (3x3TB + 3x1TB) - Ultra 2 (2x3TB) - Time Capsule (3TB)
KillerBob
ReadyNAS Expert
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:41 am
ReadyNAS: Pro

Next

Return to FrontView Backup



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest