ReadyNAS Ultra 2 - Disable RAID?

Please post question and issues pertaining to installation and upgrade here.

ReadyNAS Ultra 2 - Disable RAID?

Postby LaRock » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:32 am

I would like to add 2 drives to the ReadyNAS Ultra 2, but would like to have them operate as 2 independent drives, Not RAIDed. I looked thru the user's manual, and I didn't see an option to disable raid. Maybe I'm missing something. Do anybody know if this is possible?

Thanks in advance for your time.
LaRock
ReadyNAS Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:13 am

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 2 - Disable RAID?

Postby StephenB » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:45 am

The ultra 2 only supports two drives, so you are starting diskless?

Anyway, you can set up two Raid-0 volumes (one on each drive). Raid is technically not disabled, but this has the same effect - both drives are independent, and have no redundancy. If your unit is already set up, you would need to do a factory reset to get into this mode (which would wipe all the data on the ultra).
User avatar
StephenB
ReadyNAS Maniac
 
Posts: 10607
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:08 pm
ReadyNAS: Pro

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 2 - Disable RAID?

Postby readysecure1985 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:02 pm

StephenB is right on this one. The device is designed to be a RAID device. Disabling RAID is not an option, and it's also not recommended. If you want to explore Flex-RAID options, you will have to factory default and reconfigure the RAID settings accordingly.
NETGEAR ReadyNAS Support
Contact Information: http://support.netgear.com/general/contact/default.aspx
(US/Canada) 1-888-NETGEAR or 1-855-PRO-SAFE / (UK) +44(0)8448 75 4000
readysecure1985
NETGEAR Support
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:20 am
ReadyNAS: RN716X

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 2 - Disable RAID?

Postby TeknoJnky » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:23 pm

Also, if you intend to use flexraid for 'separate drives', this still won't work if want to try to add/remove the drives 'for backup'. The device is designed to keep drives in it until they either fail or are upgraded. Once you pull a drive, its marked as failed and you will not be able to re-add it without it getting formatted.
nv+ ~ 1gb ram ~ 4x WDC WD20EARS-00S8B1 ~ 5555 GB ~ power supply dead
ultra4 ~ 4 gb ram ~
pro business ~ 4gb ram ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DX000-1C5160 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 10tb
pro 6 ~ 4gb ram ~ dual redundancy ~ 4x Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 ~ 2x Seagate ST4000DM000-1F2168 ~ 14tb
A/V streaming ---> Subsonic ---> HTC One ~ Note 2 ~ Nexus 7
User avatar
TeknoJnky
ReadyNAS Addict
 
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: MO
ReadyNAS: Pro


Return to Installation and Upgrade



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests